cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
  • Don’t miss your chance to experience Discovery Summit Europe at our best available rate! Early bird registration through 31 Oct.
  • Graph Builder Toolbar streamlines interactive graphing. Creates shortcuts on Report and GraphBuilder Helpers toolbars. Download and install the extension.
  • JMP will suspend normal business operations for our Rest and Recharge Day on Friday, October 2, 2026.
    Regular business hours will resume on Monday, October 5, 2026.

JMP Knowledge Base

Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Featured Items

  • JMP® System Requirements

    To view the system requirements for JMP®, JMP Pro, JMP Live, and JMP Clinical, click the following links:   JMP system requirements for Windows operating systems JMP system requirements fo...

    Bobby_Riggs
    JMP Knowledge Base |
    Mar 4, 2025 9:16 AM
    3246 views | 0 replies
  • JMP® New Features and Release Notes

    New in JMP/New Features documentation is published with the initial (.0) release of a new version of JMP and describes new or significantly enhanced capabilities introduced in that release. Re...

    Bobby_Riggs
    JMP Knowledge Base |
    Nov 30, 2022 11:28 AM
    32597 views | 2 replies

Latest Posts

  • Fit Oneway Performance Issues With Jitter Enabled

    Problem Users may experience performance issues in some use cases when analyzing data using the Fit Oneway Platform in JMP 17. This may occur in the following circumstances, with Jittering enabled:  When the number of rows is relatively large in the analysis (e.g., in the tens of thousands).When rows across the categorical or nominal X variable contain multiple missing values (despite these rows n...

    PatrickGiuliano PatrickGiuliano
    Jun 8, 2023 12:34 PM
    815 views | 0 replies
  • When JMP® Clinical 17.0 is installed first, installing version 17.1 produces issues with report list

    If you already have JMP Clinical 17.0 installed, the process of installing JMP Clinical 17.1 begins by uninstalling version 17.0. After 17.0 is uninstalled and version 17.1 is installed, the Reviews report list does not contain certain new reports for 17.1 and some items are ordered incorrectly.   Listed below are the options to work around this issue.   1. This is the cleanest workaround, but wil...

    sseligman sseligman
    Jun 7, 2023 1:08 PM
    676 views | 0 replies
  • Supported versions of R software by JMP® version and operating system

    The following table describes the versions of R supported by JMP version and operating system. JMP VersionOSR Version17.xWindows2.9.1 or higher Macintosh2.9.1 or higher (Intel architecture of R only) https://www.r-project.org16.xWindows2.9.1 or higher Macintosh2.9.1 to 3.3.315.xWindows2.9.1 or higher Macintosh2.9.1 to 3.3.314.xWindows2.9.1 or higher Macintosh2.9.1 to 3.3.313.xWindows2.9.1 or highe...

    Bobby_Riggs Bobby_Riggs
    May 18, 2023 6:29 AM
    802 views | 0 replies
  • JMP® can crash when using drag and drop functionality

    JMP® might begin to crash when using drag-and-drop functionality within any platform.  This affects all versions of JMP on Windows and may be caused by a recent update to a third party software package called Digital Guardian. The crash is a known issue with Digital Guardian software. A recent update with Digital Guardian has affected the drag-and-drop behavior for Windows.  As a temporary work-ar...

    Duane_Hayes Duane_Hayes
    May 15, 2023 7:40 AM
    1141 views | 0 replies
  • How is the standard deviation calculated for different Shewhart control charts?

    XR Charts   In an XBar chart that uses the R option, the value for sigma is computed as: where:
    Ri = range of ith subgroup ni = sample size of the ith subgroup
    d2(ni) = expected value of the range of ni independent normally distributed variables with unit standard deviation
    N = number of subgroups for which ni ≥ 2
    XS Charts   In an XBar chart that uses the S option, the value for sigma is computed ...

    sseligman sseligman
    Mar 21, 2023 8:22 AM
    1875 views | 0 replies
  • How to convert Minitab files to JMP® files

    JMP® can import Minitab Portable file format (.MTP files) directly, without any need for Minitab itself. For Minitab Worksheet files (.MTW), JMP initiates a batch process where JMP creates a batch file of Minitab batch commands that actually causes Minitab to convert the worksheet to a temporary Minitab Portable file. It is this temporary Minitab Portable file that is then read into JMP. Because J...

    Wendy_Murphrey Wendy_Murphrey
    Mar 17, 2023 8:14 AM
    3292 views | 0 replies
  • How to dynamically populate a ComboBox based upon user selection

    Overview This example demonstrates how you can dynamically populate a ComboBox with options that are relevant to a user selection made in a previous ListBox.   Instructions In a JMP® session, click the File menu and select New ► Script. Copy the below script and paste it into the script window. To run the sample script, click the Edit menu and select Run Script. /* Open a sample data table */ dt ...

    Wendy_Murphrey Wendy_Murphrey
    Mar 15, 2023 12:44 PM
    1454 views | 0 replies
  • How to script Column Properties using variables

    Overview When using the JMP® Scripting Language (JSL) to script a column property, it is important to understand that the column is simply a repository for all column properties. The column stores the column property with the values supplied without evaluation or validation of the supplied arguments. In order to add column properties using JSL code which contains variables, the script must convert...

    Wendy_Murphrey Wendy_Murphrey
    Mar 15, 2023 12:13 PM
    3515 views | 1 replies
  • How to select rows that match any value in a list

    Overview The following example demonstrates how you can select rows in a data table that contain any value stored in a JSL list. Lists containing either numeric or character strings can be used.   Instructions In a JMP® session, click the File menu and select New ► Script. Copy the below script and paste it into the script window. To run the sample script, click the Edit menu and select Run Script...

    Wendy_Murphrey Wendy_Murphrey
    Mar 15, 2023 12:02 PM
    3750 views | 1 replies
  • JMP® PER File Locations for Microsoft® Windows and Macintosh® OS X

    The JMP.PER file is built from a JMP® SID license file The SID file has a standard naming convention: JMPvvv_oooooo_ssssssss_ccccccc.txt v = version of JMP the SID can be used witho is the order number the SID was delivered withs is the site IDc is the computer platform (i.e. Windows or Mac).  When the SID file is applied to JMP in a manual installation, it creates another file called a JMP.PER f...

    Dave_Matthews Dave_Matthews
    Mar 14, 2023 11:33 AM
    5324 views | 0 replies
  • An Access Control Request pop-up message appears when you install JMP® on macOS

    When you install JMP on modern versions of macOS, the following pop-up message is shown:     This message is a permissions prompt from macOS. Click OK to continue with the installation. For more information about Folder Access Control in macOS, see the Control access to files and folders on Mac article. If you need additional assistance, contact JMP Technical Support.   [Previously JMP Note 65612...

    Dave_Matthews Dave_Matthews
    Mar 14, 2023 11:21 AM
    1978 views | 0 replies
  • You are unable to use JMP® 14 functions on macOS Big Sur 11

    JMP 14 is not supported on macOS Big Sur 11. JMP began support for macOS Big Sur 11 with the JMP® 15.2 version. You must either upgrade to JMP 15.2 or a newer version, or downgrade your macOS version in order to meet the JMP 14 system requirements. How to Upgrade to JMP® 15.2 JMP Annual license customers: Contact the JMP Site Representative at your organization, or contact Contracts at 1-800-727-0...

    Dave_Matthews Dave_Matthews
    Mar 14, 2023 9:49 AM
    649 views | 0 replies
  • How to create a Recall button on a custom window

    Overview When using the JMP® Scripting Language (JSL) to generate a custom window to prompt the user for information, it is often desirable to add a button that restores settings from a previous launch of the window within the same JMP instance. Similar functionality is available when launching a platform interactively, such as by clicking the Analyze menu and selecting Distribution. Currently, th...

    Wendy_Murphrey Wendy_Murphrey
    Mar 8, 2023 7:10 AM
    3290 views | 3 replies
  • How to assign a category using a lookup table in JMP®

    Overview Using the JMP Scripting Language (JSL) you can write a script that assigns values based upon data stored in a different data table. The following example script demonstrates how you can use a lookup table to assign levels of schooling based upon the age of a student. The script does the following: Open the original data table containing a list of students and their ages.Add a new column t...

    Wendy_Murphrey Wendy_Murphrey
    Mar 7, 2023 2:55 PM
    2528 views | 1 replies
  • Can I get the process capability index CPK in JMP®?

    Yes, JMP® does produce the process capability index, CPK. From within the Distribution output, select Capability Analysis from the column's red triangle menu.   To save the limits and target back to the data table, choose Save ► Spec Limits from the Process Capability red triangle menu in JMP 15 or higher.  Prior to JMP 15, choose Save ► Spec Limits from the column's red triangle menu.   In JMP 10...

    sseligman sseligman
    Mar 7, 2023 12:45 PM
    3590 views | 0 replies
  • How do I get Squared Partial Correlation and/or Squared Semi-partial Correlation Coefficients in JMP®?

    Squared Partial Correlation and/or Squared Semi-partial Correlation Coefficients in the context of this article describe how much a predictor adds to a multiple regression model (1). JMP® does not produce these statistics automatically, but they can be obtained with JSL scripting.   The Pcorr_Scorr.JSL script (attached) produces both Squared Partial Correlation Coefficients and Squared Semi-partia...

    sseligman sseligman
    Feb 5, 2023 10:46 PM
    2020 views | 0 replies
  • How do I test the difference in slope of several lines in JMP®?

    This type of analysis is in the family of analysis of covariance (ANCOVA) models, and examples are available in the JMP® Fitting Linear Models book. Go to Help ► Books ► Fitting Linear Models.  For more information about ANCOVA models, see (1).    Consider an example using the Car Physical Data sample dataset available in the JMP Sample Data Library.  Regress Weight on Turning Circle, Country, and...

    sseligman sseligman
    Feb 5, 2023 10:28 AM
    5009 views | 1 replies
  • Is there a way to rank a column in my data table in JMP®?

    Yes. Select Analyze ► Distribution. When the results window appears, click on the inverted red triangle menu next to the column name and select Save ► Ranks or Ranks Averaged.   Alternatively, select the column of interest, right click on the column ► New Formula Column ► Distributional ► Rank.  This will generate a new formula column with the Rank by row of the observations in the column of inte...

    sseligman sseligman
    Feb 5, 2023 2:06 AM
    1618 views | 0 replies
  • How do I interpret the saved spline coefficients table in JMP®?

    The coefficients are the A (intercept), B (linear), C (quadratic), and D (cubic) coefficients for the variable (x-O), where O is the variable for the knot at the beginning of the interval.   [Previously JMP Note 35350]

    sseligman sseligman
    Feb 5, 2023 2:01 AM
    694 views | 0 replies
  • How do I interpret the Shapiro-Wilk test for normality in JMP®?

    The Shapiro-Wilk test for normality is available when using the Distribution platform to examine a continuous variable. The null hypothesis for this test is that the data are normally distributed. The Prob < W value listed in the output is the p-value, or the probability of obtaining the given test statistic (W in this case) or more extreme given the null hypothesis is true.   If the chosen alpha ...

    sseligman sseligman
    Feb 5, 2023 1:59 AM
    80216 views | 0 replies
  • How do I generate Multivariate Normal data within JMP®?

    The script entitled MVN.jsl attached can generate multivariate normal data. Simply supply the variance covariance matrix, a vector of means, and the desired sample size, and the script generates the data.   Also, if you are fitting a model with the Fit Model platform and want to generate factor values coming from a defined multivariate normal distribution, the Simulator in the Prediction Profiler ...

    sseligman sseligman
    Feb 5, 2023 1:46 AM
    1403 views | 0 replies
  • How do I create a two-way (aka multi-way) analysis of variance (ANOVA) in JMP®?

    A two-way (or multi-way) ANOVA can be done using the Fit Model platform. The response (or dependent) variable must have the continuous modeling type. The model effects must have either the Nominal or Ordinal modeling type. To fit the model: Select Fit Model from the Analyze menu.Select the factors in the list of columns.To add the two factors and their interactions, click on the Macros button and ...

    sseligman sseligman
    Feb 5, 2023 1:33 AM
    7568 views | 0 replies
  • How do I change the level of the event modeled in JMP®’s logistic regression?

    By default, JMP® models the lower ordered level as the event. The Target Level column property can be used to reverse the order of the levels. Highlight the response column, click Cols ► Column Info, then click Column Properties to add a Target Level column property.     Also, where applicable in JMP, the Target Level can be specified in the Model Dialog as a drop-down menu item.   [Previously JMP...

    sseligman sseligman
    Feb 5, 2023 1:26 AM
    760 views | 0 replies
  • How are the confidence limits calculated for the linearity study in JMP®?

     
    where:   = the critical value of T     = the number of levels for the Standard variable   = the sum of the number of levels for the standard divided by the number of levels for the factor      = the degrees fo freedom for the term(s) in the model       [Previously JMP Note 36125]

    sseligman sseligman
    Feb 5, 2023 1:12 AM
    463 views | 0 replies
  • Can I perform a one-way analysis of variance with only summary data in JMP®?

    Computing an Analysis of Variance with Summary Statistics in JMP® Software In some instances, an experimenter may want to perform an Analysis of Variance (ANOVA), but only the summary statistics are available. Most statistical programs are designed to compute ANOVA models with the full, complete set of data. However, David A. Larson describes a method to generate surrogate data from the summary st...

    sseligman sseligman
    Feb 5, 2023 1:06 AM
    2936 views | 0 replies