cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
  • Don’t miss your chance to experience Discovery Summit Europe at our best available rate! Early bird registration through 31 Oct.
  • Graph Builder Toolbar streamlines interactive graphing. Creates shortcuts on Report and GraphBuilder Helpers toolbars. Download and install the extension.
  • JMP will suspend normal business operations for our Rest and Recharge Day on Friday, October 2, 2026.
    Regular business hours will resume on Monday, October 5, 2026.

JMP Knowledge Base

Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Featured Items

  • JMP® System Requirements

    To view the system requirements for JMP®, JMP Pro, JMP Live, and JMP Clinical, click the following links:   JMP system requirements for Windows operating systems JMP system requirements fo...

    Bobby_Riggs
    JMP Knowledge Base |
    Mar 4, 2025 9:16 AM
    3255 views | 0 replies
  • JMP® New Features and Release Notes

    New in JMP/New Features documentation is published with the initial (.0) release of a new version of JMP and describes new or significantly enhanced capabilities introduced in that release. Re...

    Bobby_Riggs
    JMP Knowledge Base |
    Nov 30, 2022 11:28 AM
    32622 views | 2 replies

Latest Posts

  • Copying Graphs from JMP® GraphBuilder using Right-Click > Edit > Copy Graph may omit data points

    Copying Graphs from JMP® Graph Builder using Right-Click > Edit > Copy Graph may omit data points in the pasted output. There are three workarounds for this issue.  You can use Ctrl-C to copy the graph. Ctrl-J will copy the complete graph to a journal as well. You can raise the Fast Marker Threshold in Graph Preferences so that Fast Marker Node is used to copy the complete graph. However, the copy...

    Duane_Hayes Duane_Hayes
    Dec 1, 2022 3:03 PM
    2369 views | 0 replies
  • JMP® 13 Documentation Library book is displayed in JMP version 14.0

    If you are running JMP® Version 14.0 in Japanese or Simplified Chinese on a Macintosh machine and you open the "JMP Documentation Library" book, JMP displays an older version of the documentation. Selecting Help ► Books ► JMP Documentation Library opens the JMP 13 translated version of the documentation. The proper JMP 14 version of this book can be found in the Library folder on the machine:  /Li...

    Duane_Hayes Duane_Hayes
    Dec 1, 2022 2:58 PM
    402 views | 0 replies
  • JMP® does not support column auto-fill for character data

    At this time, JMP does not support auto-fill for character columns in the data table.   [Previously JMP Note 48008]

    Ryan_Gilmore Ryan_Gilmore
    Dec 1, 2022 2:45 PM
    211 views | 0 replies
  • Finding JMP® authorization codes for products purchased through OnTheHub®

    If you are having difficulty locating your authorization code for JMP® software purchased from the OnTheHub® website, please review the "Your Orders" section of their Help page. Information for finding the JMP authorization code is found under the "How I find my product key or activation code for the software I download?" topic. The authorization code is not given in the confirmation email, it is ...

    Duane_Hayes Duane_Hayes
    Dec 1, 2022 2:39 PM
    1122 views | 0 replies
  • Ternary Crosshairs tool gives incorrect coordinates

    In JMP® software, if you use the Ternary Plot platform to display your data, the Crosshairs tool can be used to show the coordinates of specific points or areas of the plot. The coordinates shown are incorrect. As a possible circumvention, use the Magnifier tool to narrow in on the plot, then the Crosshairs tool  becomes more accurate.   [Previously JMP Note 64802]

    Duane_Hayes Duane_Hayes
    Dec 1, 2022 2:28 PM
    415 views | 0 replies
  • In JMP® Clinical 7.1, Add Study fails when a study is blinded and has SUPPDM but no ADSL data set

    When a study is blinded and has SUPPDM but no ADSL data set, refreshing the study metadata produces an error.  As a workaround, create an ADSL data set with only a USUBJID column that is populated and copied from SDTM. Adding the study with this ADSL data set is successful. The issue is corrected in the JMP® Clinical 7.1.1 hotfix.  [Previously JMP Note 65441]

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:38 PM
    407 views | 0 replies
  • In JMP® Clinical 7.1 AE Narratives, Prior Therapy is Incorrectly Populated

    In JMP® Clinical 7.1 AE Narratives, a prior therapy may be populated for a subject that does not have one. The values come from cases where the previous subject had prior therapies, but the current subject did not. This issue is addressed in the JMP® Clinical 7.1.1 hotfix.  [Previously JMP Note 65440]

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:38 PM
    428 views | 0 replies
  • In JMP® Clinical 7.1 AE Narratives, results are incorrect if Event Type selection is not set to Treatment Emergent Events

    In JMP® Clinical 7.1, the AE Narrative results are incorrect if the Event Type selection is not set to "Treatment Emergent Events." When a user chooses the template "ByNarrativeCategoryDetails" or "ByNarrativeCategorySummary," the Event Type selection must be "Treatment Emergent Events" for the results to be correct. This issue is corrected in the JMP® Clinical 7.1.1 hotfix.  [Previously JMP Note ...

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:37 PM
    297 views | 0 replies
  • In Multivariate Inliers and Outliers, using Variable Contributions plot and Explore Outliers options can produce an error in JMP® Clinical

    Using the Explore Outliers tool within the Variable Contributions to Distance plot might produce the following JMP® Alert message: The symbol "outs" is not defined in namespace "objRefNS" in access or evaluation of 'objRefNS:outs' , objRefNS:outs/*###*/ This error occurs when a user creates the Multivariate Inliers and Outliers (MVIO) report, runs another report, then goes back to use the Variable...

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:37 PM
    495 views | 0 replies
  • In JMP® Clinical 7.0, the first occurrence of the most severe event is not correct in the Adverse Events Distribution report

    The Adverse Events Distribution report shows an incorrect first occurrence of the most severe event when the AESEV variable is missing and AETOXGR exists.  This issue is corrected in the JMP® Clinical 7.0.1 hotfix.  [Previously JMP Note 63704]

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:37 PM
    285 views | 0 replies
  • In JMP® Clinical 7.1 Incidence Screen Reports, incorrect confidence intervals for odds ratios are displayed in the data table

    In any JMP® Clinical 7.1 Incidence Screen report, incorrect confidence intervals for odds ratios are displayed in the Odds Ratio (95% CI) column in the data table. The confidence interval shown for the odds ratio is actually the interval for relative risk.This issue is corrected in the JMP® Clinical 7.1.1 hotfix.  [Previously JMP Note 65327]

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:36 PM
    322 views | 0 replies
  • Corrupt Java Runtime Environment error when connecting to a remote SAS® Server

    Java Runtime Environment (JRE) is not included as part of the installation of SAS® Visual Data Discovery for Desktop, JMP® Genomics, nor JMP® Clinical. Each of these solutions include a local installation of SAS® which does not require Java in order to connect from JMP. When a user with one of these solutions attempts to connect to a remote SAS Server, the following error appears: JMP Alert: Y...

    Wendy_Murphrey Wendy_Murphrey
    Nov 30, 2022 1:36 PM
    1949 views | 0 replies
  • How are the crossvalidation statistics defined in Partition?

    The k-fold crossvalidation method randomly divides all of the (non-excluded) rows in the datatable, D, into k subsets: D1, D2, . . . , Dk. Each row is randomly assigned to one of the k groups. First, a model is fit using all of the data. Then, K different models are fit, using the same splits, with data from D - Di, where Di is the holdout fold. For continuous responses, the error for each observa...

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:35 PM
    522 views | 0 replies
  • Execution of an analytical process in JMP Genomics may generate error regarding script

    When executing analytical processes in a new installation of JMP Genomics, an error similar to this may occur: Script does not exist: /C:/Documents and Settings/userid/Local Settings/Application Data/JMPG/ProcessLibrary/IlluminaImportEngine.jsl This may result from the current user not being the administrator on the host machine, thus a process to generate dialogs was not executed automatically....

    Wendy_Murphrey Wendy_Murphrey
    Nov 30, 2022 1:34 PM
    371 views | 0 replies
  • Is the Mann-Whitney U Test Available in JMP®?

    Yes. It is equivalent to the Wilcoxon 2-sample (or Kruskal Wallis k-sample) Test. This is obtained from the Fit Y by X platform by fitting a continuous Y and a nominal or ordinal X and then selecting Nonparametric ► Wilcoxon Test from the Oneway Analysis pull-down menu. [Previously JMP Note 35809]

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:34 PM
    5118 views | 0 replies
  • Are standardized regression coefficients available in JMP®?

    Yes. In the Fit Model output, right-click within the Parameter Estimates table and choose Columns ► Std Beta. [Previously JMP Note 36009]

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:34 PM
    1677 views | 0 replies
  • Match function may not work as expected if matching with numeric continuous values

    The Match function is typically used with categorical or ordinal values. It is possible to use numeric continuous values, but because of numeric precision, rounding off the values using the Round function may be needed.  [Previously JMP Note 35526]

    Wendy_Murphrey Wendy_Murphrey
    Nov 30, 2022 1:34 PM
    561 views | 0 replies
  • How do I create a design with a continuous factor that has more than two levels in JMP®?

    In the Custom Design platform, you can create a continuous factor with more than two levels in one of two ways: 1. Leave the factor in the design as a continuous factor and add power terms for the factor to the model. Adding the quadratic term generates a value in the center of the high and low values (to make a three-level factor). Similarly, adding the 3rd power term generates two values between...

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:34 PM
    1931 views | 0 replies
  • Is there a way to standardize a column in my data table in JMP®?

    Yes, there are several ways. Create a new column with a formula, and from the list of functions in the formula editor select Statistical ► Col Standardize. Alternatively, use the Analyze ► Distribution platform and in the results window select Save ► Standardized from the inverted red triangle menu. In JMP® 12 and later, another option is to right-click on the column of choice and select New Form...

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:34 PM
    2031 views | 1 replies
  • How do I perform a paired t-test in JMP®?

    The Matched Pairs platform is available in JMP® specifically for performing paired t-tests. First, create two continuous columns in a table with the pre/post data values. In JMP 12 and earlier, the Matched Pairs platform is located directly under the Analyze menu. Starting in JMP 13, select Analyze ► Specialized Modeling ► Matched Pairs.  [Previously JMP Note 35346]

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:33 PM
    3137 views | 0 replies
  • Excel 2007 ODBC driver limits import to 255 columns

    Although Excel 2007 allows a worksheet to contain more than 16,000 columns, the Excel 2007 (Excel 12) ODBC driver will limit import to 255 columns. If the Excel 2007 worksheet you wish to import into JMP® has more than 255 columns, the work around is to open the worksheet in Excel and save it as a delimited file, then import it into JMP as a text file. [Previously JMP Note 33421]

    Wendy_Murphrey Wendy_Murphrey
    Nov 30, 2022 1:33 PM
    955 views | 0 replies
  • JMP is not able to import data returned by executing a stored procedure which returns an Oracle cursor

    Stored procedures can be executed from JMP® after connecting to a database via ODBC and clicking on the Advanced button. However, stored procedures which return an Oracle cursor will not result in the data being imported into JMP®. Data is only returned to JMP® if a SQL SELECT query is used.  [Previously JMP Note 34878]

    Wendy_Murphrey Wendy_Murphrey
    Nov 30, 2022 1:33 PM
    493 views | 0 replies
  • Can I test for equal variances in JMP®?

    Yes. Through the Fit Y by X platform, select a continuous Y column and a nominal or ordinal X column. Next, in the output window from the Oneway Analysis pull-down menu, choose Unequal Variances. The following tests are performed: O'Brien[.5], Brown-Forsythe, Levene, and the Bartlett test. If only two groups are present, JMP® also gives the F-Test 2-sided, otherwise called the Folded F-test.  [Pre...

    sseligman sseligman
    Nov 30, 2022 1:12 PM
    359 views | 0 replies
  • The JMP Profiler in the Microsoft Excel add-in for JMP® does not load for certain versions of Microsoft Office

    When you are running JMP on specific releases of Microsoft Windows and Microsoft Office, the following error is displayed: Use of Excel Profiler requires Microsoft Excel 2007 or newer. This error occurs only when you are running Windows 10 (20H2) and either Excel 2010 or 2013. The only known workaround is to use an older version of Windows or a newer version of Excel.  [Previously JMP Note 68228]

    Bobby_Riggs Bobby_Riggs
    Nov 30, 2022 11:34 AM
    1093 views | 0 replies
  • JMP® Help might not direct you to the correct Help page when you are using the Safari browser on a macOSX system

    There is a known issue with JMP Help not redirecting you to the correct page when you are using non-English settings for Safari on macOSX. Instead of being directed to the specific Help documentation page that you requested, you are directed to a generic Help page for your version of JMP. The workaround is to use Google Chrome as the default web browser instead.  [Previously JMP Note 67156]

    Bobby_Riggs Bobby_Riggs
    Nov 30, 2022 11:34 AM
    537 views | 0 replies