cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
  • Don’t miss your chance to experience Discovery Summit Europe at our best available rate! Early bird registration through 31 Oct.
  • Graph Builder Toolbar streamlines interactive graphing. Creates shortcuts on Report and GraphBuilder Helpers toolbars. Download and install the extension.
  • JMP will suspend normal business operations for our Rest and Recharge Day on Friday, October 2, 2026.
    Regular business hours will resume on Monday, October 5, 2026.

JMP Knowledge Base

Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Featured Items

  • JMP® System Requirements

    To view the system requirements for JMP®, JMP Pro, JMP Live, and JMP Clinical, click the following links:   JMP system requirements for Windows operating systems JMP system requirements fo...

    Bobby_Riggs
    JMP Knowledge Base |
    Mar 4, 2025 9:16 AM
    3250 views | 0 replies
  • JMP® New Features and Release Notes

    New in JMP/New Features documentation is published with the initial (.0) release of a new version of JMP and describes new or significantly enhanced capabilities introduced in that release. Re...

    Bobby_Riggs
    JMP Knowledge Base |
    Nov 30, 2022 11:28 AM
    32604 views | 2 replies

Latest Posts

  • How do I get an analysis using CODED or UNCODED effects in JMP®?

    There are at least two methods to get coded effects. In the results window from a Fit Model analysis, click on the inverted red triangle menu and select Effect Screening ► Scaled Estimates. Alternatively, the "Coding" column property can be set for the effects. Column Properties are defined in the Column Info dialog.   [Previously JMP Note 35439]

    sseligman sseligman
    Jan 3, 2023 7:47 AM
    789 views | 0 replies
  • Can I perform /some_statistic_or_method/ in JMP®?

      Help ► Statistics Index (available in JMP® 9 and higher) provides an extensive list of the statistical capabilities of JMP and tells you how to access each item in the list    Additionally Help ► Search JMP (available in JMP® 17 and higher) provides a powerful context-based search capabilities throughout JMP, providing descriptions of available statistical capabilities, menu locations in JMP, an...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 27, 2022 12:37 AM
    420 views | 0 replies
  • Can I get the medians for by-groups in JMP®?

    Yes. This is easily obtained by selecting Tables ► Summary and choosing your by-group and the median statistic for the variable (column) of interest.   Note: you can also get these by first right-clicking on the by-group column, then selecting New Formula Column ► Group By, and then right-clicking on the column to calculate the median statistic on and selecting New Formula Column ► Aggregate ► Med...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 27, 2022 12:31 AM
    1722 views | 0 replies
  • Can I get Kurtosis and Skewness statistics in JMP®?

    Yes. From the Analyze ► Distribution window, choose a column of interest. In the output window, select Display Options ► Customize Summary Statistics from the column's pull-down menu.   (Note: Before JMP® version 10, these statistics are provided under Display Options ► More Moments).   [Previously JMP Note 35670]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 27, 2022 12:08 AM
    3444 views | 0 replies
  • Can I get discriminant function scores or function coefficients in JMP®?

    Yes. Discriminant analysis is available with the Analyze ► Multivariate Methods ► Discriminant menu selection. To get the discriminant scores, select Score Options ► Save Formulas from the red triangle menu in the results window. Note that Formulas can also be saved out to the Formula Depot in JMP Pro by selecting Score Options ► Pulish Probability Formulas, where their functional form can be seen...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 27, 2022 12:05 AM
    701 views | 0 replies
  • Users might encounter an error when attempting to load SAS® Transport files into a study in JMP® Clinical 6.0

    In JMP Clinical® version 6.0, if a user selects the Add Study icon, chooses an SDTM folder with only SAS® Transport (.XPT) files, and checks the 'Import SAS Transport Files (If Available)' box, the following error appears: ERROR: There are no SAS data sets in the specified SDTM folder. To resolve this issue, replace the old AddStudyLocal.sas and ManageStudies.sas macros (located in C:\Program Fi...

    Ryan_Gilmore Ryan_Gilmore
    Dec 23, 2022 1:21 PM
    427 views | 0 replies
  • The Overall Percent Occurrence is not recalculated in the AE Distribution report when you make a selection in the Review Subject Filter

    In the JMP® Clinical Adverse Events Distribution report, the Overall Percent Occurrence is not recalculated when you use the Review Subject Filter to subset data. When a filter is applied, the percentages are calculated correctly in the counts table, but the numbers for Overall Percent Occurrence are not updated accordingly in the Report Filter. This issue is corrected in the JMP® Clinical 7.1.2 h...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 23, 2022 1:18 PM
    495 views | 0 replies
  • The offset slider in the Adverse Events Time to Event report does not add time to the "Days of Exposure" calculation

    In the JMP® Clinical 7.1 Adverse Events Time to Event report, if you add time to the offset slider to look for events, the slider does not also add time to the Days of Exposure calculation. The Days of Exposure calculation is used to censor subjects who did not experience an event.  This issue is corrected in the JMP® Clinical 7.1.2 hot fix (link below). The offset slider is then dependent on incl...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 23, 2022 1:16 PM
    461 views | 0 replies
  • The default configuration for JMP® Clinical 7.1 fails on a new installation if files referencing a previous partial installation still exist

    When opening JMP® Clinical 7.1 after a new installation, the default configuration fails if files referencing a previous partial installation still exist. This issue is corrected in the JMP® Clinical 7.1.1 hot fix (link below).   JMP® Clinical 7.1.1   [Previously JMP Note 65442]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 23, 2022 1:13 PM
    454 views | 0 replies
  • Term level defaults for JMP® Clinical Distribution and Incidence Screen reports have changed

    In some cases, running a Distribution or Incidence Screen report in default mode gives an error, due to insufficient values in the default term level variable.  This error is resolved in the JMP® Clinical 7.0.1 hot fix (link below), where the default term level is set to be the dictionary derived term.   JMP® Clinical 7.0.1 hot fix   [Previously JMP Note 63705]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 23, 2022 1:12 PM
    334 views | 0 replies
  • Running Patient Profiles in JMP® Clinical 7.1 produces an error when the EX data set does not contain EXTRT

    When the EX data set is missing the EXTRT variable, running Patient Profiles in JMP® Clinical 7.1 produces the following error: ERROR: The following columns were not found in the contributing tables: EXTRT. As a workaround, the user can add a variable named EXTRT with all missing values to the EX data set. This issue is resolved in the JMP® Clinical 7.1.1 hot fix (link below).   JMP® Clinical 7.1...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 23, 2022 1:08 PM
    591 views | 0 replies
  • Metadata table files are overwritten if a mapped drive connection is lost when managing a configuration

    In JMP® Clinical 7.1, if a mapped drive connection is lost while managing a configuration, metadata files are overwritten. You might encounter the following JMP Alert: date rc=0 in access or evaluation of 'Last Modification Date', Bad Argument (narrDestPath||narrfileName||".VM"), Last Modification Date/*###*/(narrDestPath||narrfileName||".VM") This issue is corrected in the JMP® Clinical 7.1.2 hot...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 23, 2022 1:04 PM
    604 views | 0 replies
  • Lower-level terms are not represented in the Term Type distribution in the Standardized MedDRA Queries Distribution report

    In the Standardized MedDRA Queries Distribution report in JMP® Clinical 7.1, if you click the Show Events Leading to SMQs action button, lower-level terms are not represented in the Term Type distribution. This issue is corrected in the JMP® Clinical 7.1.2 hot fix (link below).   JMP® Clinical 7.1.2 hot fix   [Previously JMP Note 65969]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 23, 2022 1:02 PM
    653 views | 0 replies
  • How are control limits calculated for the different moving average control charts?

    EWMA Charts: The following notation is used for the formulas:

    You can compute the limits in the following ways: as a specified multiple (k) of the standard error of Ei above and below the central line. The default limits are computed with k=3 (these are referred to as 3σ limits).as probability limits defined in terms of α, a specified probability that Ei exceeds the limits.   The following table ...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 23, 2022 11:55 AM
    1815 views | 0 replies
  • Can I test if my data are coming from the "XYZ" distribution?

    Yes. This functionality is available in the Distribution platform. In the output window, select either Continuous Fit or Discrete Fit from the column's pull-down menu. Once the Fitted Distribution table is presented, choose Goodness of Fit from its pull-down menu.   [Previously JMP Note 36012]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 23, 2022 11:38 AM
    560 views | 0 replies
  • Can I test for equal variances in JMP®?

    Yes. Through the Fit Y by X platform, select a continuous Y column and a nominal or ordinal X column. Next, in the output window from the Oneway Analysis pull-down menu, choose Unequal Variances. The following tests are performed: O'Brien[.5], Brown-Forsythe, Levene, and the Bartlett test. If only two groups are present, JMP® also gives the F-Test 2-sided, otherwise called the Folded F-test.   [Pr...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 23, 2022 11:36 AM
    5656 views | 0 replies
  • Can I get a pdf plot in JMP®?

    Yes. Go to the Analyze menu and choose the Distribution platform. Specify a continuous Y column. Next, from the red triangle menu in the output window, choose Continuous Fit or Discrete Fit and fit the distribution of your choice.   [Previously JMP Note 35336]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 23, 2022 11:34 AM
    723 views | 0 replies
  • You see the message "Python data type is not supported" when using the Python send() function in JMP® 15.2

    When you use JMP 15.2 and the Python send() function to send data to Python, you encounter the following error that states the Python data type is not supported.   Figure 1   To resolve this error, update to JMP 15.2.1.   [Previously JMP Note 66430]

    Dahlia_Watkins Dahlia_Watkins
    Dec 23, 2022 8:51 AM
    368 views | 0 replies
  • Using R Send() and R Get() functions with R 4.x in JMP® 15.x generates the error "The final R statement is incomplete"

    Either sending variables by using the R Send() function or getting data by using the R Get() function fails in JMP 15.x with R 4.x. You then see the following error message: The final R statement is incomplete. This message is the result of changes that are made by a Windows Security Update (KB4586786). The error occurs only when you use JMP 15.x with R 4.x versions. However, when you use the abov...

    Dahlia_Watkins Dahlia_Watkins
    Dec 23, 2022 8:50 AM
    419 views | 0 replies
  • Supported Join types for Table > JMP Query Builder

    JMP® Query Builder can be used to join two JMP tables. However, some may notice the option to "Include non-matching rows from table" is grayed out.                      JMP uses SQLite as its database engine for Table > JMP Query Builder. SQLite supports only the following Join types: Inner-Join: returns rows when there is a match in both tablesLeft-Join: returns all rows from the left table, eve...

    Dahlia_Watkins Dahlia_Watkins
    Dec 23, 2022 8:45 AM
    998 views | 0 replies
  • Step-by-step: Installing JMP® on Microsoft Windows

    The following is a step-by-step guide for sites that wish to provide their users with an instruction set to install JMP® on their machines. Note: This SAS Note is not intended to address any environmental or system-related issues that might arise during the installation process. If any deviations are encountered during the installation, verify whether you are running a version of JMP supported by ...

    Dahlia_Watkins Dahlia_Watkins
    Dec 23, 2022 8:42 AM
    26169 views | 0 replies
  • Special requirements for the JMP® Python integration on Apple silicon (M1) machines

    The JMP Python integration has special requirements when it is running on Apple silicon (M1) and later processors: Python 3.10 universal2 installers are recommended for Python.org distributions on Apple M1 architecture.Python 3.7 through 3.9 for Python.org distributions require the Python.org universal2 installers to be installed to match the Apple M1 architecture. Note: Using Python 3.9 and earli...

    Dahlia_Watkins Dahlia_Watkins
    Dec 23, 2022 7:52 AM
    1132 views | 0 replies
  • Query Builder or Open Table Error: The specified DSN contains an architecture mismatch between the Driver and Application.

    Whether you prefer to use Open Table or Query Builder in JMP®, you may encounter the error: "The specified DSN contains an architecture mismatch between the Driver and Application" (Figure 1.1). Figure 1.1 Figure 1 With Database Management Systems (DBMS) such as Oracle, MS SQL Server, PostgreSQL, etc., you need to configure the ODBC Data Source that corresponds with the architecture of JMP. Meanin...

    Dahlia_Watkins Dahlia_Watkins
    Dec 23, 2022 7:49 AM
    840 views | 0 replies
  • Post-Query Script within Query Builder is ignored when launching a saved .jmpquery file.

    In JMP® 15 when a post-query script is saved within a .jmpquery file, the script is ignored upon opening the file and selecting Run Query. The table being referenced within the query returns data, but the expected output of the post-query script is not generated. Workaround: Open the Query Builder (.jmpquery) file.Select the Red-Triangle > Run on Open.If the script is still listed, copy the Post-Q...

    Dahlia_Watkins Dahlia_Watkins
    Dec 23, 2022 7:45 AM
    483 views | 0 replies
  • JMP® Query Builder: Filters set with Prompt on Run crash JMP 15.

    Selecting "Prompt on Run" for a variable within Query Builder's filter crashes JMP® 15 after selecting "Run Query". Workaround: Go to File > Preferences > Query Builder and turn off "Run queries in the background when possible".   [Previously JMP Note 65168]

    Dahlia_Watkins Dahlia_Watkins
    Dec 23, 2022 7:41 AM
    216 views | 0 replies