cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
  • Don’t miss your chance to experience Discovery Summit Europe at our best available rate! Early bird registration through 31 Oct.
  • Graph Builder Toolbar streamlines interactive graphing. Creates shortcuts on Report and GraphBuilder Helpers toolbars. Download and install the extension.
  • JMP will suspend normal business operations for our Rest and Recharge Day on Friday, October 2, 2026.
    Regular business hours will resume on Monday, October 5, 2026.

JMP Knowledge Base

Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Featured Items

  • JMP® System Requirements

    To view the system requirements for JMP®, JMP Pro, JMP Live, and JMP Clinical, click the following links:   JMP system requirements for Windows operating systems JMP system requirements fo...

    Bobby_Riggs
    JMP Knowledge Base |
    Mar 4, 2025 9:16 AM
    3252 views | 0 replies
  • JMP® New Features and Release Notes

    New in JMP/New Features documentation is published with the initial (.0) release of a new version of JMP and describes new or significantly enhanced capabilities introduced in that release. Re...

    Bobby_Riggs
    JMP Knowledge Base |
    Nov 30, 2022 11:28 AM
    32613 views | 2 replies

Latest Posts

  • What is the difference between the Excel Import Wizard and the Excel Add-In for JMP®?

    There are two primary methods for importing Microsoft Excel files into JMP. You can use the Excel Import Wizard or the Excel Add-In for JMP (in Microsoft Windows environments only). However, each method leads to slightly different import outcomes. The Excel Add-In uses Windows automation to communicate between a JMP session and Excel. Excel transfers the values over at the time of the request. Any...

    Dave_Matthews Dave_Matthews
    Dec 14, 2022 1:35 PM
    1201 views | 0 replies
  • The JMP® installation process creates empty shared-files directories

    After a new installation of SAS® 9.3 is installed on a machine, the shared-files directory is no longer created. (A "new" installation of SAS means that no previous SAS versions had been installed on the machine.) Instead, each product is installed in a directory of its own under the SASHOME directory. Here is an example: C:\Program Files\SASHome\ReportFontsforClients\9.3 However, the JMP stand-...

    Ryan_Gilmore Ryan_Gilmore
    Dec 14, 2022 1:34 PM
    251 views | 0 replies
  • Special requirements for running JMP® 16 on Apple M1 Silicon ARM-based processors

    Apple's M1 Silicon and later processors, developed by Advanced RISC Machines (ARM), have special requirements for full support in JMP 16. Due to Apple's move from Intel-based processors to ARM-based processors in its newer Mac OS systems, third-party drivers and software must also support Apple's ARM-based architecture to work with JMP. When running JMP 16 in native mode on Mac OS 11 on an ARM-bas...

    Dave_Matthews Dave_Matthews
    Dec 14, 2022 1:28 PM
    1623 views | 0 replies
  • JMP® might stop responding when a network drive with JMP files becomes unavailable

    The Recent Files window in JMP verifies the availability of the files in its list. If a file in the Recent Files list that resides on a network drive becomes unavailable, JMP can stop responding while waiting to verify it. If you are experiencing this issue, it is recommended that you upgrade to JMP 15 or a newer version. If you experience the issue but are unable to upgrade to JMP 15 or a newer v...

    Dave_Matthews Dave_Matthews
    Dec 14, 2022 1:24 PM
    769 views | 0 replies
  • Import SAS® dataset from local SAS might fail due to missing SAS 9.4 OLE DB Provider

    When opening or importing a SAS® data set from the local SAS connection into JMP® an error may be encountered due to missing SAS integration files. The error is: JMP failed to load the SAS 9.4 Provider for OLE DB, which is required to import the requested data.

    Please verify that the SAS 9.4 Provider for OLE DB is correctly installed.

    You can download the SAS 9.4 Provider for OLE DB from support.s...

    Dave_Matthews Dave_Matthews
    Dec 14, 2022 1:23 PM
    1374 views | 0 replies
  • Excel® numbers, dates and currency formats are not the same as the JMP® table

    By default, JMP® uses the same regional settings for numbers, dates and currency as the Microsoft® Windows or Apple® macOS operating system it is installed on. If you set JMP to use a different language setting in Preferences any exported Excel files reverts back to using the operating system’s regional settings. NOTE: You can check your JMP language setting, by selecting File > Preferences, and l...

    Dave_Matthews Dave_Matthews
    Dec 14, 2022 1:21 PM
    528 views | 0 replies
  • "Can't reach this page" error is received when opening the JMP Online Help in JMP® 15

    Depending on your company firewall settings, you can receive the following pop-up error when accessing the JMP® 15 Online through the JMP Help menu option or by pressing F1:   Here are alternative ways to access the JMP Online Help system for the JMP 15 application: Access the JMP Online Help system in your web browser by navigating here.Access the JMP Documentation Library installed in JMP 15 as...

    Dave_Matthews Dave_Matthews
    Dec 14, 2022 1:12 PM
    442 views | 0 replies
  • You see a syntax error after you run an AE Narrative report in JMP® Clinical 7.1 on a Chinese operating system

    Running an AE Narrative report in JMP® Clinical 7.1 on a Chinese operating system might produce the following error: ERROR 22-322: Syntax error, expect one of the following: quoted string, numeric constant, date time constant, missing value,-. 76: Unable to determine LINE and COLUMN. This issue is corrected in the JMP® Clinical 7.1.2 hot fix. Click the link below to access the hot fix.   JMP® Clin...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 12:58 PM
    561 views | 0 replies
  • When I run my model through the Fit Model platform, I see "LostDFs" in the Effect Test report and "Biased" and "Zeroed" parameter estimates. Why?

    These notes usually indicate one or more linear dependencies in the design. That is, a linear combination of one or more factors can exactly duplicate another factor's values. Singularity Details are shown at the top of the results window. Examining these details should assist in determining which factors are involved in the linear dependencies. You can then adjust the model by removing factors to...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 11:28 AM
    865 views | 0 replies
  • The Nonlinear platform in JMP® 15.0 produces incorrect results when using by-groups or where clauses

    In JMP 15.0, when using by-groups or where clauses, the Nonlinear platform accesses the wrong rows in the data table for the X variables. It uses the row in the original table (rather than the row in the by-group) as it goes through the data, thus producing wrong answers without warning.   This issue was fixed in maintenance release 15.1.   [Previously JMP Note 65410]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 11:22 AM
    375 views | 0 replies
  • When I run nominal or ordinal logistic regression in JMP®, some parameter estimates are labeled "Unstable." Why?

    This is a common issue caused by some parameters in the model becoming theoretically infinite. It can happen when the model perfectly predicts the response, or if there are more parameters in the model than can be estimated by the data (that is, with sparse data, where "sparse" means that there are few or no repeats of each setting of the covariates). One solution is to reduce the number of variab...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 11:20 AM
    1575 views | 0 replies
  • Which versions of JMP® and SAS® correspond to each release of JMP® Genomics and JMP® Clinical?

    The following tables show the supported versions of JMP® and SAS® versions for each release of JMP Genomics and JMP Clinical.    JMP Genomics   JMP SAS10.115.1 (Pro) 9.4M7 10.015.1 (Pro) 9.4M6 9.113.2 9.4M5 9.013.2 9.4M5 8.212.29.4M48.112.29.4M38.012.19.4M37.111.29.4M27.011.19.4M16.110.0.29.3M26.010.0.09.3M1      JMP Clinical  JMP SAS8.115.2.19.4M78.015.2.19.4M77.114.39.4M67.014.19.4M5 6.1 12.29.4...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 11:17 AM
    1150 views | 0 replies
  • JMP Clinical® 6.1 Gives Error Message when Running Study Visits Report

    When records in the SV domain have a missing value for Visit Number, an error occurs when running the Study Visits report. The hot fix for JMP Clinical 6.1 resolves this issue. Click on the link below to download the hot fix.   JMP Clinical 6.1 Hot Fix   [Previously JMP Note 62215]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 11:11 AM
    316 views | 0 replies
  • In JMP® Clinical 7.0, updating the study snapshot with transport files produces report errors

    If a study snapshot is updated with use of transport (.XPT) files, JMP® Clinical indicates the snapshot is successfully added, but errors occur when running reports such as Adverse Events Distribution and Findings Time Trends. An error might state the following: ERROR: There are no valid observations in the <XX> domain for analysis. Please check that your study data sets or any applied subject fil...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 11:07 AM
    320 views | 0 replies
  • In JMP® Clinical 7.0, renaming a study containing transport files produces an error

    If a user attempts to rename a study that contains transport files, JMP® Clinical produces the following error: ERROR: File WORK.SDTMNOUSEDDOM.DATA does not exist. This issue is resolved in the JMP® Clinical 7.0.1 hotfix.     [Previously JMP Note 63713]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 11:06 AM
    399 views | 0 replies
  • In JMP® Clinical 7.0, renaming a study causes AE Review Flag to be set to new for all records

    If a study is renamed, the AE Review Flag in the Adverse Events Distribution report is set to "New" for every record. This issue is resolved in the JMP® Clinical 7.0.1 hotfix.   [Previously JMP Note 63719]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 11:05 AM
    267 views | 0 replies
  • In JMP® Clinical 7.0, ANRIND variable conversion is not supported for ADaM Basic Data Structure data

    The ANRIND variable conversion to xxNRIND for a reference range indicator is not accommodated in JMP® Clinical's support of ADaM Basic Data Structure (BDS), which affects the results in AE Narratives and Findings reports. This issue is resolved in the JMP® Clinical 7.0.1 hotfix.   [Previously JMP Note 63707]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 11:00 AM
    437 views | 0 replies
  • In JMP® Clinical 7.0, an error occurs when running Adverse Events Narrative with a study containing only transport files

    When a study contains only transport files, running Adverse Events Narrative with the default settings gives this error: ERROR: File SDTM.SUPPAE.DATA does not exist. This issue is resolved in the JMP® Clinical 7.0.1 hotfix.   [Previously JMP Note 63712]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 10:59 AM
    317 views | 0 replies
  • In JMP Clinical® 6.0, username length might cause metadata table name to exceed 32 character limit

    In JMP Clinical® 6.0, username length might cause the metadata table name to exceed the 32 character limit for SAS® data table names. Additionally, when JMP Clinical 6.0 is launched with a username containing the special character " – " only base JMP opens and the JMP Clinical menus do not appear. To resolve the errors, the user needs to extract the files from the zip file referenced below to the ...

    Ryan_Gilmore Ryan_Gilmore
    Dec 14, 2022 10:33 AM
    154 views | 0 replies
  • Can I get Cronbach's coefficient alpha from JMP®?

    Yes. Choose Analyze ► Multivariate Methods ► Multivariate, specify your continuous columns in the dialog box corresponding to the Y,Columns Role, and click OK to generate the analysis. In the analysis output window, click on the red triangle menu under the Multivariate header, and then select Item Reliability ► Cronbach's α, or Standardized α for Cronbach's α, standardized.   [Previously JMP Note ...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 8:31 AM
    2544 views | 0 replies
  • I have categorical effects in my Stepwise Regression model, and I don't understand how JMP® is performing the analysis. Is there any information on this?

    Information on Stepwise Regression models containing nominal and/or ordinal effects can be found in the JMP® Fitting Linear Models documentation. In the Stepwise Regression Models chapter, see the section titled Models with Nominal and Ordinal Effects.   [Previously JMP Note 36624]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 8:27 AM
    417 views | 0 replies
  • Can I get a Receiver Operating Characteristic (ROC) curve in JMP®?

    Yes. Under Analyze ► Fit Model, construct a model such that the response column(s) is(are) modeled as Nominal or Ordinal, then select from one of several applicable Personality options, such as Nominal Logistic. Choose ROC Curve from the red triangle menu options under the model output. Note: ROC Curves are also available in other platforms in JMP, such as: Partition, Neural Net, and Discriminant....

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 8:23 AM
    2294 views | 0 replies
  • How does JMP® pick the initial cluster seeds in K-Means Clustering?

    JMP® uses the same seed selection method as the SAS® FASTCLUS procedure, with METHOD=FULL on the initial seeding. Generally, this method starts at observation one then chooses observations within the data set that are far apart. Please see the Background section for the FASTCLUS procedure in the SAS/STAT User's Guide for a detailed explanation.   [Previously JMP Note 37931]

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 8:11 AM
    778 views | 0 replies
  • Are geometric means available in JMP®?

    Yes, they are. From the Analyze ► Distribution window, click on the red triangle menu corresponding to a column of interest. In the resulting output window, select Display Options ► Customize Summary Statistics from the column's pull-down menu and check the box next to Geometric Mean, then Click OK.   Alternatively, choose the Summary Statistics outline under the red triangle, select Customize Sum...

    sseligman sseligman
    Dec 14, 2022 12:53 AM
    1257 views | 0 replies
  • JMP® reports are cut off or misaligned when printed to PDF

    Using File > Print or Print Preview to view or create a JMP® report produce PDF images that are not properly sized. These images extend beyond the borders of the page and usually continue onto the next appropriate page. For example, the below graph was printed as a PDF report. Notice how this single image is split amongst the two pages. Figure 1   Workaround: save the report to Word then Print or ...

    Dahlia_Watkins Dahlia_Watkins
    Dec 13, 2022 4:11 PM
    525 views | 0 replies