Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Can Logistic Regression estimate original model parameters from simulated data?

ranjan_mitre_or

Community Trekker

Oct 16, 2013

I am new to JMP and Logistic Regression, and I would like to test the estimation of model parameters using Logistic Regression. I have simulated categorical response data from model parameters (betas) that I put in the simulation. I have included all different types of independent variables; nominal, ordinal and continuous, in the model. Then I generated each independent variable using a random number generator, calculated the probability of the response for each instance of randomly generated independent variable, and then generated the response variable (1 or 0 ) depending upon the calculated probability of the response variable. I repeated this until I had a large number of data points (each data 'point' being - one instance of all the independent variables and the corresponding response variable) that I fed into the logistic regression analyis. My questions are:

1 Can I expect the Logistic Regression to estimate the original Betas?

2. Should the estimates asymptotically approach the true values of betas (that I used to generate the data) as I increase the number of data points?

3. What happens in case of the Nominal variable which are estimated by the Dummy Variable method in Logistic Regression? I have an independent variable that takes on 3 nominal values, for which I used 3 corresponding values of Betas to generate the simulated data. The output of the regression analysis comes up with two betas, and the third values is negative of the sum of these two (if I understand the method correctly.)

Any help in developing this understanding will be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Solution