Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed
shannon_conners

Jun 23, 2011

Visualizing holiday food log patterns

If you read my last post, then you know that I’m giving myself the gift of data this holiday season! For me, collecting data on my diet and fitness habits is a gift that just keeps on giving. Although I may not look at all my data sets on a daily basis, the information is there when I need to use it to help me understand my patterns.

Collecting food data isn’t just a holiday habit for me, however. I have been logging the foods I eat at each meal year-round for nearly five years, using BodyMedia’s app for most of that time before adopting MyFitnessPal earlier this year. I presented a poster at JMP Discovery 2014, which described how I imported my BodyMedia food log data into JMP by saving multiple pdfs to text, concatenating them, and using regular expressions to parse details into columns in a JMP table. MyFitnessPal saved me a few steps by producing report output that can be saved as a single text file, but I still needed to use regex parsing to create a usable JMP table.

I processed the text derived from my BodyMedia and MyFitnessPal food logs using parallel but separate processes that converged at the very end in a single unified table.

I processed the text derived from my BodyMedia and MyFitnessPal food logs using parallel but separate processes that converged at the very end in a single unified table.

The big challenge: Combining data from two sources

The major challenge I recently solved was unifying these two food log data tables, and my experience solving this is relevant to anyone who has to combine data from different sources.