Subscribe Bookmark
jmarquardt

Staff

Jul 21, 2014

Sneak peek of data visualization webcast with Xan Gregg

On the next Analytically Speaking, we’ll hear from Xan Gregg, JMP Director of R&D and the creator of the drag-and-drop Graph Builder. Here is a preview of what he’ll discuss. Tune in Wednesday, March 16, at 1 pm ET to hear the rest.

Q: Tell us about the importance of graphs and visualizing data.

A: Earlier in my career, I could see how valuable data visualization was, but didn’t really understand why until I started studying perception and how the mind works. There is a big part of the mind just dedicated to visual processing, making a very efficient way of getting information into our minds.

There’s a famous example, Anscombe’s Quartet. It has four different data sets, and if you look at just numbers on a table, they look the same. And if you look at the summary stats, they are the same. But when you see the points themselves on the scatterplot, you can immediately see they are all different.

Anscombe's Quartet: When you see the points themselves on the scatterplot, you can immediately see the four data sets are all different.

Anscombe's Quartet: When you see the points themselves on the scatterplot, you can immediately see the four data sets are all different.

That’s the power of visualization, just in that simple example. It extends, as well, to the more elaborate graphics that we have today.

Q: What’s your perspective on different data visualization terminology?