Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
jmpandvba
Level II

Making and updating a new spreadsheet of rows from old spreadsheet that contain specific value

Hello JMP community,

I am very new to JMP and JSL, so I am having difficulty doing these two related tasks.

1) I would like to write a script that makes a new spreadsheet of rows from old spreadsheet that contain a specific entity. For example, I would like to make a script that creates a new data table of all the rows of males. (See attached pictures below)

2) I need to be able to autoupdate this data table. Assuming that full table is on a local db (like on SSMS), how can I use a JMP script to update the table of all males from a local SQL db? I've tried adding onto the autogenerated "Update db" script, but I have no idea what I am doing. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you so much JMP community.

Capture.JPGCapture1.JPGCapture2.JPG

5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
uday_guntupalli
Level VIII

Re: Making and updating a new spreadsheet of rows from old spreadsheet that contain specific value

@jmpandvba
    Answering a part of your question is easy, if you had data in JMP , you can easily create a new data table or spreadsheet as shown below. 

//Clean up 

Clear Log(); Clear Globals(); Close All(DataTables,"No Save"); 

// Open Sample Data 
dt = Open( "$SAMPLE_DATA/Big Class.jmp" ); 

// Subset based on condition 
dt << Select Where(:Sex == "M"); 

dt1 = dt << Subset(""); 

dt1 << Set Name("Boys In Class"); 

// Save as spreadsheet 
Close(dt1,Save("C:\Test.xlsx")); 

As for how do you autoupdate the data table, this would require a batch/scheduled execution of your JMP script. At a given time of the day, if you can have an application invoke your JMP script and run, you will be able to acheive it . You may look at C# or VBA automation samples of JMP for ideas. (Z:\Program Files\SAS\JMP\14\Samples\Automation) 

Best
Uday
Highlighted
jmpandvba
Level II