cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Stephen2020
Level II

K-means cluster with correlated inputs

Hi all,

I'm working with a system where I need to do both variable reduction and clustering. I am studying fish behavior. I have three behavioral treatments and when I look at a PCA biplot its obvious that my data clusters into two groups and they roughly correspond to my lowest and highest treatment categories. I have an intermediate category that is split between the two. I want to use K-means to consolidate my treatment variable into two treatments instead of three to be used in later analyses.

Stephen2020_0-1591303076162.png

Two questions: 

1: If I am using multiple very similar highly correlated inputs (several different ways to measure body curvature) does that mess with  the clustering algorithm? Should I be doing my variable reduction before clustering?

2: I received reviewer comments saying "these clusters don't mean anything, of course a clustering algorithm is going to find differences" is there a way to address these comments referencing the way K-means clusters works. 

Thanks,

Stephen

3 REPLIES 3

Re: K-means cluster with correlated inputs

Hi Stephen2020 - You have very strong PCA results looking at the picture included. This is your statistical support for two groups. K-means uses the PCA results, so you've done variable reduction as part of doing K-means.