Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Problems retrieving a (saved?) local data filter

KatrineK

New Contributor

Nov 7, 2016

I'm new to JMP, so bear with the basic questions. I'm using a local data filter to run some of my analyses on subsegments of my sample (e.g. only people who answered between 1-5 in a question). I've tried saving this filter to avoid setting it up again for the following analyses, but without luck. Well, the filter initially seems to be saved (to the data table), but when running the next analysis (from the same data table) there are no existing filters to choose from in the dropdown (actually it's seems inactive). It's quite cumbersome to re-type the filter, so I'd highly appreciate help. 

And by the way, I'm working on a subset of a data table - could that be the reason I cannot save/retrieve the local data filter? If so, is there a way to save the subset as a new data table? 

3 REPLIES
txnelson

Super User

Jun 22, 2012

Let me see if I can help with your issue. If I understand what you did was that you ran a platform(Distribution, Fit Y by X, etc.) and then applied a Local Data Filter to that platform. Then you saved that filter's script to the data table. Your then expectation, was that when you ran a subsequent analyses that the filter would be applied to those.
I understand your logic, however, you are using the wrong filter. A Local Data Filter, is only applied to the Platform it was attached to. What you really need to do, is to apply a "Data Filter", which affects the data table, and therefore all subsequent analyses applied to that data table.
Click on your data table, or on the Platform you are running, and then go to:
Rows==Data Filter
from the pull down menus.
Once you select the column(s) you want to filter on, then select all three check boxes of "Show", "Select" and "Include". What you will then see, is that when you apply your filter selections, the rows in the data table will become "Hidden and Excluded" based upon the filter.