cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
PaulMasuch
Level II

How to insert X axis break in graph builder?

Hi everyone,

I am trying to insert a simple X axis break in JMP, but can't find the option for it in the Graph Builder.

In Origin Lab for example this was easily achievable using x axis breaks. I am quite new to JMP, so any help would be much appreciated!

My X axis data are timestamps, spread over multiple days, but on a single day they are only in the range of up to one hours. If I put all timestamps as X, the trend of the data during a single day gets lost, because the distance to the next day is so much larger.

I want to only display the X data on each day during the time where measurements were taken. I have added a small graphic to hopefully better explain the problem.

JMP_question_x_axis_break.png

Thank you!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
PaulMasuch
Level II

Re: How to insert X axis break in graph builder?

Thanks for all the suggestions so far Jemster, jthi and ih.

If I understand it correctly, this is not done quickly and easily, and especially not if I want to make changes to the display or data. I will still try to make one of the solutions work.

I also think this should be implemented in JMP - I will see if I can add it to the Wish List.

Greetings Paul

Edit

wish list - https://community.jmp.com/t5/JMP-Wish-List/Add-easily-configurable-axis-breaks-to-the-Graph-Builder/...

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
Jemster
Level III

Group X could be what you want. Based on your description you may want  to use a Local Data Filter, found using the red triangle next to "Graph Builder" in the graph builder window, to exclude timestamps where data doesn't exist

jthi
Super User

One option you could try setting your timestamp to Ordinal (or Nominal) and use your grouping variable as Overlay. You could possibly also add Date as additional grouping column