cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Mananahi
Level I

Dunnett's Test Statistic

I have run an ANOVA in JMP with a Dunnett's post hoc test to compare 8 treatments to my control. In a publication I am working on I reported the p-values for each comparison to the control. A reviewer has asked me to include the test statistic along with the p-values. For some reason, a test statistic is not displayed along with the p-values in the default settings on the Dunnett's output within the fit model personality. I'm new to statistics so I'm not even certain what the test statistic is for a Dunnett's procedure.  Does anyone know what that test statistic would be and how I can get JMP to display it?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Thierry_S
Super User

Re: Dunnett's Test Statistic

I believe what you are looking for is the Q value shown in the LSMeans Difference Dunnett table (equivalent to t statistics but for multiple comparison to a control value).
If this not what you are looking for, then I'm afraid that I will not be able to help you any further.
TS
Thierry R. Sornasse

View solution in original post

David_Burnham
Super User (Alumni)

I've put together some fake data to illustrate what is going on:

dunnetts.PNG

I've chosen the data such thast the contrast between c and the control (a) has a p-value of 0.05 i.e. the threshold at which we are assessing statistical significance.  

A t-statistic can be calculated as a the ratio of the difference to the standard error of the difference.  For the second contrast the statistic is 2.5 i.e. the Q statistic.  So whilst there is a statistic for each comparison, we can define a single statistic to that is the threshold for statistical significance.