Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Scripting error: "Control limits out of order: must be LCL<=Avg<=UCL" - BUT: LCL<=Avg<=UCL...

jan_solo

Community Trekker

Feb 21, 2014

Hi everyone,

I'm brand new to the JMP scripting (now doing it for 2 days).  I have absolutely no idea about statistics, which makes the job harder.

Anyway, for my colleagues I'm creating a script that puts the test results in a graph and displays the limits on it.  For some graphs, this works perfectly, but some give the error:

Error for Control Chart on data table Averages Table 2: Control limits out of order: must be LCL<=Avg<=UCL

I have checked the limits (LCL and UCL) and calculated the Mean(<ColumnName>).  The outcome is that LCL <= Mean <= UCL.  So I don't know what is happening and why it is failing.

since LCL<=Mean<=UCL fits, there will probably be a statistical difference between Mean and Average.  Can someone please explain this to me?

If this is not the case, why do I get this error?  There are no NULL-values in the table used to create the chart.  The error seems to come from this part of the script:

ch = Control Chart(

Group Size( 1 ),

KSigma( K_Sigma ),

Chart Col(

AvgTableColumnNames,

Individual Measurement(

LCL( As Column( dt3, AvgTableColumnNames )[1] ),

UCL( As Column( dt3, AvgTableColumnNames )[2] )

)

),

SendToReport( Dispatch({},

"2",

ScaleBox,

{Format( "Fixed Dec", 12, 0 ), Min( LowerBoundery ),

Max( UpperBoundery ), Inc( 1 ), Minor Ticks( 0 )}))

);

Eval( Substitute( Name Expr( ch ), Expr( LowerBoundery ), LowerBoundery ) );

Eval( Substitute( Name Expr( ch ), Expr( UpperBoundery ), UpperBoundery ) );

I'm sure the variables used have the correct values (I showed them in the log).  So please can someone tell me whats going on...

Thanx!

Best regards,

J.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
jan_solo

Community Trekker

Feb 21, 2014

Solution