cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

JMP Two level Screening is giving me a different Design every time

Hi! I am very new to JMP just as an fyi.. But I am trying to utilize the DOE Two-level Screening function. I had already gotten a design using this function however,  I am now trying to recreate this same output. I used the same factors and the same amount of runs yet I am getting a different outcome. Is this just a part of how the JMP software works?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: JMP Two level Screening is giving me a different Design every time

After you enter your factors, you need to answer a question:

Dan_Obermiller_0-1709000290595.png

I think you are choosing to construct a main effects screening design. That is an approach that will build an orthogonal or near-orthogonal design. As such, you very well could get different results each time, especially if an orthogonal design does not exist given your situation. If you select to Choose from a list of fractional factorial designs, you will get the more traditional full and factorial designs which will be the same each time.

I would encourage you to read about these screening designs in the JMP help: 

https://www.jmp.com/support/help/en/17.2/?os=win&source=application#page/jmp/overview-of-screening-d... 

Dan Obermiller

View solution in original post

3 REPLIES 3
statman
Super User

Welcome to the community.  The default when you are creating a design is to randomize the run order.  If you choose a different selection (like keep the same) you will get the same design. 

Screenshot 2024-02-26 at 12.36.41 PM.jpg

"All models are wrong, some are useful" G.E.P. Box

Hi! Thanks for your help!