Share your ideas for the JMP Scripting Unsession at Discovery Summit by September 17th. We hope to see you there!
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
kadiew
Level II

Can't capture listbox selection in application builder

Hi everyone,

I'm new to jmp and I'm trying to use the application builder. I have a launch module with a listbox and two values, "ER" and "IL". Once a user presses a button, I'd like to be able to capture which selection(s) they chose, if any. 

For some reason, when I print "AnalysisSelected" to the text box, the text that appears is "List". It works if I choose to only print "AnalysisSelected[1]" to the text box, but I want to be able to loop through the selected analyses and take proper action once I pass the variable to the GraphBuilder...

Thanks in advance!!

kadiewright_0-1582816864644.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
cwillden
Super User

Re: Can't capture listbox selection in application builder

A list box is container for any kind of display boxes to display them in sequence vertically or horizontally.  Is AnalysisTypes a radio box?

JSL as far as I know does not use the "this"/"self"/"me" convention of object-oriented languages, so that part of your script is not doing anything.

If AnalysisTypes is a radio box and Error Text is a textbox, your function should look like this:

RunAnalysis = function({},
	AnalysisSelected = AnalysisTypes << Get Selected;
	//show(AnalysisSelected);
	Error Text << Set Text(AnalysisSelected);
);

The "show(AnalysisSelected)" line is commented out, but you can uncomment that line and see what the value of that variable is in the log.  That is a really handy function to use for debugging.

I attached a working example in App Builder using this script.