cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
YBerger
Level I

call a column by referring to variable

A complete newbie here,

could not find the solution in older posts,

I have created a variable containing an existing column name. I want to create a new column, were the data from two other columns is summed (calling the columns by variables). the usage of variable is for later use in a for loop.

Thanks for helping!

for the below code:

dt = Current Data Table();

columnname1 = Column( dt, 1 ) << Get Name;
columnname2 = Column( dt, 2 ) << Get Name;

dt << New Column( "new_" || columnname1, Numeric , continuous, formula(column(dt, columnname1)+column(dt, columnname2)));

I get the following error:

Column new_Column 1 2 Formula Interrupted
Cannot convert argument to a number [or matrix] 1 times At rows: 2 Operation: Add, Column( dt, columnname1 ) + /*###*/Column( dt, columnname2 ) /*###*/
Formula evaluation errors have been ignored

Column( "new_Column 1 2" )

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
David_Burnham
Super User (Alumni)

Re: call a column by referring to variable

You've already created variables that reference the columns.  You can use those in your formula, but you need to use the AsColumn function:

formula( AsColumn(columnname1) + AsColumn(columnname2) )
-Dave

View solution in original post

4 REPLIES 4
David_Burnham
Super User (Alumni)

You've already created variables that reference the columns.  You can use those in your formula, but you need to use the AsColumn function:

formula( AsColumn(columnname1) + AsColumn(columnname2) )
-Dave
txnelson
Super User

You can get it to work, with

Names Default To Here( 1 );
dt = Open( "$SAMPLE_DATA/big class.jmp" );