BookmarkSubscribeSubscribe to RSS Feed
d_benetton

New Contributor

Jul 12, 2018

Why is the number of variables limited when using stepwise regression?

Hi everyone,

Disclaimer: I'm very new at using JMP so this could be a basic error. Even still, I'd appreciate help.

I've been trying to use stepwise regression fit model to see what effect single variables, two-factor variables, and quadratic variables have on the outcome variable. When I hit "enter all" after selecting backward direction, it will only add 13 variables, and I can't click on the checkboxes to add more. I want to be able to add all of the variables & interactions, but I can't add them. I think it has something to do with the degrees of freedom but I'm not sure. Grateful for any help.

JMP Help Picture.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
cwillden

Community Trekker

May 1, 2017

Solution

Re: Why is the number of variables limited when using stepwise regression?

How many rows of data do you have?  I would have guessed you are right that the constraint is you can't exceed number of rows you have in the number of starting model terms because you will have non full rank matrix and you won't be able to estimate all the parameters.  In that case, you would have to do forward selection.  However, it looks like you have 28 degrees of freedom for error even with all those boxes checked, so that doesn't seem like the case.

-- Cameron Willden
5 REPLIES
cwillden

Community Trekker

May 1, 2017

Solution

How many rows of data do you have?  I would have guessed you are right that the constraint is you can't exceed number of rows you have in the number of starting model terms because you will have non full rank matrix and you won't be able to estimate all the parameters.  In that case, you would have to do forward selection.  However, it looks like you have 28 degrees of freedom for error even with all those boxes checked, so that doesn't seem like the case.

-- Cameron Willden
d_benetton