Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Symbol evaluation is too recursive

laisteve17

Occasional Contributor

Jun 15, 2017

Hi There,

I am new to JSL and am looking for any documentation (or direct help) figuring out why I got this error:

Symbol evaluation is too recursive (25 levels). in access or evaluation of 'gchFailed' , gchFailed/*###*/

Here is my guess at what information might be useful. Please help me. Thanks in advance!

I have two scripts, a main and a header file. My main file include()'s the header file, which is a bunch of function definitions. Both scripts use Names Default To Here( 1 ) which may be the problem. I have many functions that use the same variable name "gchFailed" as a local variable. The error is produced when I call the following functions:

//within header file, function definition
processGCHFile = function({}, {Default Local},
gchFailed = 0;
if(/* failCase */, gchFailed = 1);
{gchFailed, otherReturnValue}; //return values
);

//within main = function({}, {Default Local}, /*main code*/)
gchRet = processGCHFile(gchFile, saveMap); //return values
gchFailed = gchRet[1]; //this works fine
gchDT = gchRet[2];

if(gchFailed, //this throws the error
print("Failed");
);

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Craige_Hales

Staff

Mar 21, 2013

Solution

I think the returned value should look like this:

evalList( {gchFailed, otherReturnValue} ); //return values

so the list contains values of the variables rather than names of the variables.

Craige
4 REPLIES
Craige_Hales

Staff

Mar 21, 2013

Solution

I think the returned value should look like this:

evalList( {gchFailed, otherReturnValue} ); //return values

so the list contains values of the variables rather than names of the variables.

Craige
laisteve17

Occasional Contributor

Jun 15, 2017

Thank you, Craige! Worked like a charm. I guess JMP expressions are still tripping me up.

txnelson

Super User

Jun 22, 2012