cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
jdwatson
Level II

Set cell value if row is selected

Hi,

I'm a newbie trying to write a script to fill in a cell value if its row is selected.  The use case I have in mind is as follow: during exploratory data analysis I select some points in a graph which I suspect to be outliers.  I have another script which helps me look at the raw data (not part of the JMP table), and based on looking at that raw data I decide the row corresponding to this data point should be excluded from my analysis (i.e. the raw data used to generate that particular row is garbage).  I can simply right click and select "Exclude".  Now all my JMP analysis looks at only the good data points which is fine and dandy.  Now after I finish all this analysis I want to go back and do some analysis on the rows that I excluded.  For instance, if each row represents data collected by different operators, maybe one operator is producing a lot of junk data.  I can of course do a point and click solution to select all excluded rows and create a new subset datatable, but what I would prefer to do is add a new column (let's call it FlagColumn) and set all the selected rows in FlagColumn to "bad" and all the other rows to "good".  What I have in mind is something like this:

dt = current data table();

rows =  dt << get selected rows ;

For( i=1, 
     i<=5, 
     i++, 
     if(Row State(i) == Selected State(1),
     	dt:FlagColumn[i] = 0
     );
);