cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
adiezmann
Level I

Scripting with multiple tables

I'm relatively new to JSL (and scripting in general) and am having trouble figuring out a way of manipulating multiple tables.

What I would like to do for each row of one table is turn the data from two columns into two global variables, adjust matching data in a second table, then go on to the next row of the first table, repeat.

IE:

One table has a total number of runs for each workweek, one row per week. My second table has many rows for each workweek, but I'd like each row to get the appropriate total runs for that week placed in the appropriate column.

In the scripting guide, calling "Current Data Table(desired table)" is listed as how to move your references from table to table, but I can't seem to make it work.

I'm trying to make something like the following work (the shows are just in there for troubleshooting):

Current Data Table("Percent Fail") ;

For Each Row(

globalWeek= :Week;

globalTotal = :N Rows;

Show(globalWeek);

Show(globalTotal);

Current Data Table("Run Summary Table");  

For Each Row( if(Week == globalWeek,

Runs that Week=globalTotal))

)

Is what I'm trying to do possible? Even if I end up finding a different way of solving this particular situation, I'm curious about the general process of going between two tables like this.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ms
Super User (Alumni) ms
Super User (Alumni)

Col Number does not like character formatted columns but try this trick:

Col Number( Hex To Number( Char To Hex( :Column ) ), :Column )

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
pmroz
Super User

It's easier if you point different variables to the two tables.