Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Apssub
Level I

JMP for antibody titration curves

Hi

Hi All, im a very novice jmp user and am trying to analyze an antibody titration curve using JMP. I tried to fit a 4PHill. However i got some very weird values on my estimates with my inflection point (-1.72)  and lower asymptote (-26453.17) having negative values while the upper asymptote showed 97.11.  In additions the P value was not significant for both the inflection point and lower asymptote (approx 0.98 on both). Am i using the wrong type of curve? How do i approach this? any help is appreciated! Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: JMP for antibody titration curves

Adding to @Chris_Kirchberg's comment, another common cause for failing to converge to chosen model is that it is over-specified. For example, the dilution curve might be a 4PLC, but if experimentally only a portion of the curve is observed, then it is difficult to estimate all of the parameters, and a simpler model will be more successful. Otherwise, you must extend the domain to observe more of the curve if you want to fit the more complex model.

View solution in original post

9 REPLIES 9

Please post your data (JMP data table) if possible.

Also, are you using the Hill model in the model library associated with the Analyze > Specialized Modeling > Nonlinear platform? Or are you using the Analyze > Specialized Modeling > Fit Curve platform?

Apssub
Level I

@Mark_Bailey..i tried it both ways and it still gave me the negative values:-(

Georg
Level VII

Hi @Apssub 

as @Mark_Bailey posted already, a sample would be really helpful, you can also kind of anonymize it to avoid unveiling confidential information.

Did you have a look at the examples, e.g. in the scripting index you will find that script ( > Help >Scripting Index > search for 4P HILL).

Simply execute and have a look at the result.