Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

JMP Data Manipulation

statsgirl13

Community Trekker

Jul 6, 2012

I'm a newbie to JMP but have used SAS for years, with much emphasis on data preparation (e.g., PROC FORMAT).  What's the best way to take a data table in JMP and group values for analysis?  (e.g., age ranging from 0 to 99, want grouped into 1-5, 6-10, etc.)... or is the assumption that your data is already "prepped" once it hits JMP?  I've looked at value labels and row states and nothing's jumping out at me.

5 REPLIES
paigemiller

Community Trekker

Apr 12, 2012

I'm sure you could use a formula for a column that takes the actual age and puts it into a "bin" 1-5, 6-10, etc. It would be tedious, but I am not aware of any non-tedious way to do this (even in SAS) if you really want the bins to be formatted as "1-5", "6-10", etc. If you just want bins without clear labels, things get much easier, create a formula that divides the age by 5 and then takes the floor of that division.

Of course, part of me is screaming ... don't turn continuous variables into bins, that's rarely a good thing to do for statistical analyses.

statsgirl13

Community Trekker

Jul 6, 2012

Thanks.  I understand your point about the data manipulation.  Just wanted to view the data using our bins corresponding to product discounts.

Jeff_Perkinson

Community Manager

Jun 23, 2011

If you want to bin a continuous variable there are at least a couple of ways to do this.

One is to use the Distribution platform on the continuous column and choose Save Level Numbers or Save Level Midpoints.

2329_SaveLevelNumbers.jpg

These options will use the histogram bins to create new columns in your data table.

If you need adjust the histogram bins you can:

a) use the hand tool (press H on your keyboard) and drag in the histogram

b) use the Histogram OptionsSet Bin Width

2330_SetBinWidth.jpg

If you want to specify your own cut points to bin your column you can use this add-in.

I hope that helps.

-Jeff