cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
beginners_luck
Level II

Friedman test on JMP?

Dear all,

I am fairly new in using the JMP software, and as far as I can see there is no function in the programme for using the Friedman test? I have a non-normal distribution of my different sets of values (more than three groups) and is opting for a non-parametric test. That is, I had like to test a 2-way type of test (as ANOVA). Wilcoxon test is insufficient since it is a one-way test.

Do anybody know how I will deal with is problem? Is there another test to perform instead of Friedman test?

Best regards,

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Jeff_Perkinson
Community Manager Community Manager

Re: Friedman test on JMP?

Hi Jim,

Friedman's test is not supported directly in JMP but, as Steve points out you can do this by calculating the ranks within each block and then doing a two way ANOVA on ranks using Fit Y by X (treating one of the effects as a blocking variable).

Computing the ranks within block is easy in JMP. Just use the Distribution platform with your original response as Y and your blocking variable as a By variable. Then, in the resulting report, hold down the Ctrl key and click on the little red triangle at the top of one of the histograms and choose Save->Ranks. You'll get a new column in your data table with the ranks within levels of your blocking variable.

I hope that helps!

-Jeff

-Jeff

View solution in original post

20 REPLIES 20
stevedenham
Level II