cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
TannerE
Level II

Binning alarm limit failures

I am new to JMP and could use some guidance here. I have 6 columns: Tool ID, Measurement 1, Measurement 2, Measurement 3, Measurement 4, Measurement 5. Each measurement has a unique limit that, when exceeded, stops the tool. I want to create a bar chart that shows how many times each individual measurement exceeds its' applicable limit. Is there a way to associate a limit value to a column and bin the number of times that limit is exceeded? Additionally I need to be able to brake it down by Tool ID. Is there a way to dynamically color the individual bars to show how much each tool contributes to the binned number? 

Does what I'm trying to accomplish make sense?

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
jthi
Super User

Re: Binning alarm limit failures

Where do you have your limits saved?

If your starting data is like this:

jthi_0-1655303414928.png

I would stack it by Measurements (Tables/Stack) and then add limits to the new table (maybe with Join, depends where and how you are getting the limits). Then create a formula to check if value in data is out of spec

jthi_3-1655303560800.png

and after this you can start playing around with different options in graph builder

jthi_8-1655303857526.png

Other option could be to use Spec Limits column properties to set the limits to your original data and then use Process Screening platform:

jthi_6-1655303755418.png

-Jarmo

View solution in original post

jthi
Super User

Could your limit column (or data) column be Character data type instead of numeric what it should be? You can also simplify the formula a little by leaving If out if you only need 1 and 0 values

Names Default To Here(1);

Show(If(1 < 2, 1, 0));
Show(1 < 2);

-Jarmo

View solution in original post

7 REPLIES 7
jthi
Super User

Where do you have your limits saved?