Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Highlighted
Ulrika
Level I

Analytics

Hi!

I am completely new to both JMP and statistics and would like some help with analyzing some data (see attached file).

I work as a microbiologist and have stained bacteria from 4 different fermentations on 2 different glass slides for each fermentor. The stainings result in colored cell structures, of which I took two photos per glass slide. I now would like to know:

1) If the differences in the amounts of stained cell structures on the photos are dependent on the fermentor (A/B/C/D) or simply dependent on the glass slide.

2) If the differences in the total amount of stained structures between fermentors are significant.

How can I do this in JMP? I am very thankful for any help!

Best regards,

Ulrika

4 REPLIES 4
Highlighted

Re: Analytics

I just have to say that this common practice of performing the study and then considering the analysis is risky. It is backwards. The only way to be sure that the data coming from the study will support the analysis is to start with the analysis in mind!

The pictures are the lowest level 'experimental unit' and so do not enter directly into the analysis. They will be used to estimate the experimental error that is used in any hypothesis tests. The slides are the next level of experimental unit and enter the model as a 'random effect.' So really you have one categorical Fermentor with four levels and another (nested) categorical factor Slide with two levels. I assume that these are the only four fermentors so you want to know about fixed effects (e.g., is the response for fermentor A higher than from the others). This situation is easily handled by a 'two-way analysis of variance.'