ceecee
Level III

JMP Can Be Shiny Too (2021-US-EPO-929)

Level: Beginner

Caroll Co, Research Scientist, Social & Scientific Systems

Helen Cunny, Toxicologist, Division of the National Toxicology Program, NIEHS

Keith Shockley, Staff Scientist, Biostatistics & Computational Biology, NIEHS

David Umbach, Staff Scientist, Biostatistics & Computational Biology, NIEHS

The dashboard functionality in JMP is a fantastic tool that can serve as a good alternative to R Shiny. Compared to R Shiny, JMP dashboards are easier and faster to build and can save lots of time in app development. In this poster, I talk about how JMP dashboards can be a tool for:

•          Sharing the excitement of data discovery with others.
  •          Personalizing the presentation of graphics.
  •          Creating a visual storyboard to convey information.

Auto-generated transcript...

Speaker

Transcript

Caroll Co Hi, everyone. I am Carol Co. I'm a statistician at Social & Scientific systems, and today I'm going to talk to you about
  how you could use the dashboard functionality in JMP to showcase your data and to create a visual storyboard.
  So, unlike R Shiny, JMP allows you to create an app in a matter of minutes, without having to learn to code.
  So you could spend a lot more time in exploring your data and to do your statistical modeling, rather than coding an application from scratch. And I think that's really like the biggest advantage JMP has over R Shiny.
  So there are many reasons why an app can be useful. In my case, I was dealing with a complex data set
  with too many what-if scenarios and a lot of higher order interactions, and so producing static graphs had become too cumbersome and inefficient to work with.
  I was also working with the work group coming from different backgrounds and different technical and computational skills, so I was really looking for a platform where any user from any...coming from any background can find it easy to navigate.