cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
abmayfield
Level VI

pie graphs+heat maps

Hello everyone, 

As a marine biologist, I recently stumbled across a visual presentation of coral reef data that I really like (see attachment). In it, you will see various pie graphs in which the individual wedges are essentially heat maps to show relative levels of certain parameters. I would like to adapt this for my own research, and I THINK it cn be done with Graph Builder, though not as a heat map, per se. Here is my idea: say I want four pie wedges representing four response variables (A, B, C, and D). The size is unimportant, so I will give each a value of 0.25 so that they occupy equal areas. I realize I can overlay color, so I created a "color" column and assigned values for the four response variables, but then my graph didn't change accordingly. Screen Shot 2019-08-13 at 10.45.21 AM.pngI tried value coloring and labeling, but no luck. I feel like I just set up my table wrong! Any suggestions?? Thanks!

Anderson B. Mayfield
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: pie graphs+heat maps

With the columns of interest stacked, a custom map can be used to acheive the visualization you're looking for. 

Here's an example on JMP public using the data you've supplied. 

You can find the custom map and modified data table at:

https://public.jmp.com/packages/Coral-Health-Indicators/js-p/5d5aa110f40f010268e63cf4

~John

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
abmayfield
Level VI