cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
bordini
Level III

how can I analyse a Split-Plot design?

Please, does anyone can teach me how to analyse a split-plot design? It would be helpful a screnshot of the fit model window.

I have my data attached. Temperature is the whole plot and and time is the subplot.

Thank you very much!

P.S: I'm a beginner in statistics and in JMP.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
gzmorgan0
Super User (Alumni)

Re: how can I analyse a Split-Plot design?

Congratulations, Bordini, you are specifying your model correctly. You matched the fixed effects.

Since you stated you are new to statistics and JMP, I'll try to keep it simple. Most classical statistics assumed independence (no correlation) within blocks (plots) and repeated measures.  In the 1980's as compute power was radidly increasing so did the statistical methods that accomodate different assumptions, different covariance structure. For example, for an actual split plot design, the layout of the subplot could have spatial effects, etc. Independence no longer has to be assumed.  Note, if you run your Mixed Model in JMP 12 you will get a zero effect for Shift not the -11.7776 result  in JMP 13 and 14.  JMP 13 and 14 uses a new method (Kackar-Harville), a correction that is applied to the variance matrix of the fixed effects.