cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
stan_koprowski
Community Manager Community Manager

What is JMP? What does JMP do for you?

Hi,

I was wondering what your understanding of JMP is, or what JMP does for you or your company.

We recently tweeted, "What is #JMP, you ask?"

As JMP users, you probably get asked that question.

I found a couple of cool links describing what JMP is.

Dave@Pega-Analytics​ created this cool animated gif describing JMP.

And this one from the web.  And this paper ​titled, "I'm a SAS Programmer.  Why should I JMP?"

And julian​ created a video showing what JMP is in 60 seconds.

I'd like to know what others use JMP for or what JMP means to them?

How many cool ways do you use JMP? What feature can you not do without?

Please join the discussion by leaving a comment below.

3 REPLIES 3
Peter_Bartell
Level VIII

Re: What is JMP? What does JMP do for you?

While now I work for SAS as a JMP systems engineer, I'll answer from the perspective of my former role as a statistician at my former employer, Eastman Kodak Company...where I was a JMP user since version 1. By JMP version 3, I never touched SAS or APL again.

What is JMP?

Among many areas of application, JMP was the data analytics and DOE desktop platform of choice within our Six Sigma Black Belt training curriculum. Hundreds of Kodak Six Sigma Black Belt candidates around the globe were trained using JMP. Hands down JMP offered the broadest and deepest deployment of quality and statistical methods in a way that did not constrain us wrt to topics, methods, and ease of interacting with their colleagues on the thousands of Six Sigma projects that were touched by Kodak Black Belts.

What does JMP do for you?