cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
mpl34
Level III

Suppressing Textbox in Chart with Conditions

Hi all,

I am new to jsl and scripting in general, but I am trying to create variability charts based off of conditions of one column.

When I use where under the settings it generates a text box above the plot that matches the entire string within where (and repeats for each chart that is made). Is there any way to suppress this? It is causing display problems when the condition is lengthy and multiple plots are appended.

e.g.:

dt = Open("$SAMPLE_DATA/Big Class.jmp");

dt<<variability chart(Y(:Weight),X(:Age),Where(:Sex=="M"));

10991_pastedImage_1.png

Going through the interface does not show this issue but the script seems similar:

10992_pastedImage_2.png

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
txnelson
Super User

Re: Suppressing Textbox in Chart with Conditions

Here is the method I use to get rid of the Where Clause.

I suspect there may be a way to reference it from the report output of the variability platform, but since it actually is displayed before the platforms output, I have been successful in wrapping a New Window around the output, with an imbedded "Empty" outline box, and then referencing it from there.

Names Default To Here( 1 );

dt = Open( "$SAMPLE_DATA/Big Class.jmp" );

// Formalize the display into a New Window with an empty

// outline box to allow the referencing of the Where text box

// that preceeds the display of the variability chart

New Window( "Display",

ob = Outline Box( "", dt << variability chart( Y( :Weight ), X( :Age ), Where( :Sex == "M" ) ) )

);

// Delete the text box that has the Where clause in it

ob[Text Box( 1 )] << delete;

Jim