Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
MIS
MIS
Level I

Some basic questions about my first DOE response surface design

Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to JMP Pro and the questions I'm about to ask are pretty basic. 

I have two independent variables and a dependent variable (response), all three measured using a seven-point Likert scale. The goal is to analyze the within-individual perceptual (in)congruence between the independent variables and their influence on the response. My sample size is 260.

Question 1: When I click on "make table" before adding data to the columns, I get the following output. I have some idea what the column Pattern means but I don't know if I should keep it in the analysis. When I populate the 260 records into the X1, X2, and Y columns, what should I do the with Pattern column? Should I keep it as is (with only 10 values while X1, X2, and Y have 260 values) or just get rid of the column?

MIS_0-1692628026483.png

Question 2: Did I correctly determine the values for X1 and X2 here? Should I do anything about the Lower and Upper Limit for the response as well (i.e., Lower Limit = 1; Upper Limit = 7). 

MIS_1-1692628325500.png

Question 3: In my case, what should be the number of center points? The default I'm seeing is 2. 

Your help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

5 REPLIES 5
statman
Super User

Re: Some basic questions about my first DOE response surface design

First, welcome to the community.  Unfortunately, you have not provided enough context about your situation to provide specific advice.  I do have the following questions/comments:

• Sample size of what?  Is this a product or a web page or what?  What is being sampled?
  • What are the independent variables?  What is the response variable?
  • You apparently already did the "study"?  Is there more than one person in the study? If so, you should have a column identifying the individual(s).