cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
wbwing
Level I

Scripts for multiple data windows

I am just getting started in JMP. I have a very basic current need. I need a quicker way to do a calculation and visualization of motor data files I'm recording. I am tired of doing it manually in excel everytime. A friend suggested JMP as a way to do it consisitently and quickly without having to get into Excel Macros. I downloaded the trial and am spending a couple days to see if it can do the job before convincing my boss to purchase. I'm very happy how quickly I was able to add calculated columns and graph the data. However I would really like to be able to load a data file (or series of files) and click a button that will add the columns and make the simple plot. I know the answer lies with scripts. From the graph builder I saved the script, but that script only shows up in the data window I already completed the task with. Everytime I open a new file, that script is no longer available. Furthermore, I'm pretty sure that script only makes the plot. How do I save a script to add the two columns I need when I open a new file?

9 REPLIES 9
gzmorgan0
Super User (Alumni)

Re: Scripts for multiple data windows

If you added files, they are not appearing.

ian_jmp
Staff

Sounds like you might want to put everything into one script. If so, the example below should get you started (though it uses a CSV file).

Do 'File > New > New Script' to open a window, copy the code below, and paste it in. You can run it as it is (with 'Edit > Run Script'), and then adapt it to your case. Do 'File > Save' to save your new script file.

To learn a little about JSL, try 'Help > Books > Scripting Guide'.

Names Default To Here( 1 );