cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
vishwasanj
Level V

Row state markers to refer a column value?

I am new to JSL. My question is how to change the row state marker to the same value as a column. I have a column with 1,2,3,4....350. I want to display the number as my marker instead of diamons, * or cicrles in my graph builder. Any way to reference the column values in the marker state?

For example,

For Each Row( Row State( Row() ) = Marker State( :M) ) );  -> This changes the marker to M for all the data

For Each Row( Row State( Row() ) = Marker State( :Column("Die") ) ); -> This doesn't work.

I haven't used scripting. I am just curious on how it works. I really appreciate your time and effort.

Thanks for the help.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions

Re: Row state markers to refer a column value?

The value that you want to use as a label for a marker must be a value in a data column designated to be used as a label. In this example using Big Class data table, the name column is designated as a label column. You must further select all the rows to be labeled and then select Row > Label to apply the labels. In this case, I selected all of the rows. The result in Graph Builder looks like this:

labelled markers.jpeg

Is this result what you want?

I suggest that you read Help > Books > Essential Graphing for more information and examples.

View solution in original post

8 REPLIES 8

The row state is associated with an observation (row), not a variable (column). If you want to employ a different marker for each column, then you change the marker in Graph Builder. Here is a script for a simple example plotting columns 2-4 against column 1.

Graph Builder(
	Show Control Panel( 0 ),