cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Tegan2404
Level I

Randomised complete block deisgn 2 x 2 factorial

Hi there,

I am new to JMP so am hoping you can help!

My experiment was a randomised complete block 2 x 2 factorial design with two levels of supplementary additives. A total of 480 individuals were blocked into pens of 5 (pen acts as the experimental unit, not individual), and pens within a replicate were alloacted to one of the 4 dietary treatments. I had 24 replicates in total, but the experiment was conducted over two batches, the first 240 individuals (12 reps) in february and the second batch of 240 indivudals (12 reps) in April. I therefore need to account block for rep and account for batch.

I just want to check i am doing the ANOVA correctly, in the 'construct model effects' box i have my two factors, their interaction, Batch and rep, is this correct? However, when i do this batch looses its DF (as in the picture) so im not sure what to do?

I also need to add a covariate for start weight for some of the analysis, does this also go in the 'construct model effects' box or should continous covariates go in another box?

Thanks!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Phil_Kay
Staff

Re: Randomised complete block deisgn 2 x 2 factorial

Just to complete the answer this is how you can then use the report to interpret that analysis.

• The top 3 parts of the report should be fairly familiar. You can see the significance of your fixed treatment effects. This is the important bit because these are the effects that are of interest. Most of the rest of the report is just telling you about the random effects that you recognise are sources of variance but don’t really care about.