cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
ehchandlerjr
Level V

Principal component regression

Hello - I have been working with and using PCA in JMP for about four years now. Nothing fancy, but I feel very comfortable with a lot of the functionality. I've been using the PCs as factors for DoE, thinking I was some kinda smartie and came up with a new use case for PCA. Low and behold, I stumble across a Wikipedia page last week on principal component regression. Ha.

Anyway, I have looked and looked, and don't see any reference, much less functionality, in JMP for PCR (or integration with DoE for that matter). Am I missing something, and does this functionality exist in JMP, even if only in JSL form? If not, does anyone have experience with it? Would you just use the inverted correlation matrix on the PCs, basically the inverse of the PC formula column?

Thanks!
Edward Hamer Chandler, Jr.
9 REPLIES 9
Thierry_S
Super User

Re: Principal component regression

Hi,

I dabbled with the same idea and was told that was nonsense on this board. Still, there may be a labor-intensive way to get what you want.

1. Calculate the Principal Components from your data set (Multivariate Methods > Principal Components)
  2. In the report, go to Save Columns > Save Principal Components Values. The number of PCs you save depends on your data, and I tend to use PCs that capture at least 80% of the data variation
  3. Then, treat the PCs as any variables in your model (e.g., Response Screening, Fit Model,..)

Note: This approach is directly inspired by the workstream in R as explained on this page (LINK)

Best,

TS

Thierry R. Sornasse
ehchandlerjr
Level V