cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
vhemingway
Level I

Order Bar Chart by Y-Axis Values?

I am new to JMP (using the trial of JMP 9) and completely stumpped on something that should be fairly simple.  I hugely appreciate any guidance!

I am making a bar chart that displays data from 2 separate years for each categorical value.  I sorted the numerical data in one of the columns in ascending order, but the bar chart is displaying the categories in alphabetical order instead of the order they appear on the data table I sorted. I tried changing the Row Order Levels for each column with no luck.  Any ideas on how to proceed in getting the bar chart to sort by the numerical values in one column instead of alphabetically by category?

Thanks so much!

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ron_horne
Super User (Alumni)

hi veenimgway,

try this link for a complete explenation:

http://blogs.sas.com/content/jmp/2011/08/25/ordering-categorical-graph-elements/

let us know if it worked for you,

ron

View solution in original post

5 REPLIES 5
ron_horne
Super User (Alumni)

hi veenimgway,

try this link for a complete explenation:

http://blogs.sas.com/content/jmp/2011/08/25/ordering-categorical-graph-elements/

let us know if it worked for you,

ron

vhemingway
Level I

Thanks Ron!  This article didn't show up in all of my searches.  It worked like a charm, although it took a few tries to get the continuous variable in the correct spot on the graph to make it work.  But now it is nice and organized.

Thanks!

ron_horne
Super User (Alumni)