cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Thierry_S
Super User

Newb JSL Question: How to get the content of a Text Edit Box into a variable?

Hi,

I'm a beginner in JSL (JMP 13.1) and I'm struggling with the interactive dialog logic especially how to extract the content of a Text Edit Box into a variable.

Here is a snippet of a JSL script that does not work (i.e. the variable "prefix" is not updated with the content of the Text Edit Box "tt1).

prefix = "";
win = New Window ("   TEST   ",
	<< Modal,
	<< On Validate (

if (Is Missing (prefix),0,1);
	),

H List Box (
		Text Box ("  Define Prefix "),
		tt1 = Text Edit Box (""),
		prefix = (tt1 << Get Text) // I cannot figure out how to assign the content of "tt1" to "prefix""
	),	
);

Show (tt1, prefix);

Thank you for your help.

Sincerely,

TS

Thierry R. Sornasse
3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Craige_Hales
Super User

Re: Newb JSL Question: How to get the content of a Text Edit Box into a variable?

Try this

win = New Window( "Set a Value in Number Edit Box",
	<<Modal,
	<<Return Result,
	Text Box( "Set this value" ),
	numberbox = Number Edit Box( 42 ),
	texteditbox = TextEdit Box( "this one too" ),
	Button Box( "OK" ),
	Button Box( "Cancel" )
);
Write( win["numberbox"] );
Write( win["texteditbox"] );
show(win);

When the modal window closes, the returned value is a list of the content of the boxes that had assignments:

win = {numberbox = 3.1415, texteditbox = "argyle", Button(1)};

The button(1) means the OK button, -1 is the cancel button.

win["numberbox"] is a way to ask the list to search its members for the assignment and return the value.

Craige

View solution in original post

txnelson
Super User