cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Thierry_S
Super User

Newb JSL Question: How to get the content of a Text Edit Box into a variable?

Hi,

I'm a beginner in JSL (JMP 13.1) and I'm struggling with the interactive dialog logic especially how to extract the content of a Text Edit Box into a variable.

Here is a snippet of a JSL script that does not work (i.e. the variable "prefix" is not updated with the content of the Text Edit Box "tt1).

prefix = "";
win = New Window ("   TEST   ",
	<< Modal,
	<< On Validate (

if (Is Missing (prefix),0,1);
	),

H List Box (
		Text Box ("  Define Prefix "),
		tt1 = Text Edit Box (""),
		prefix = (tt1 << Get Text) // I cannot figure out how to assign the content of "tt1" to "prefix""
	),	
);

Show (tt1, prefix);

Thank you for your help.

Sincerely,

TS

Thierry R. Sornasse
3 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Craige_Hales
Super User

Re: Newb JSL Question: How to get the content of a Text Edit Box into a variable?

Try this

win = New Window( "Set a Value in Number Edit Box",
	<<Modal,
	<<Return Result,
	Text Box( "Set this value" ),
	numberbox = Number Edit Box( 42 ),
	texteditbox = TextEdit Box( "this one too" ),
	Button Box( "OK" ),
	Button Box( "Cancel" )
);
Write( win["numberbox"] );
Write( win["texteditbox"] );
show(win);

When the modal window closes, the returned value is a list of the content of the boxes that had assignments:

win = {numberbox = 3.1415, texteditbox = "argyle", Button(1)};

The button(1) means the OK button, -1 is the cancel button.

win["numberbox"] is a way to ask the list to search its members for the assignment and return the value.

Craige