Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Ake
Ake
Level III

Model 'locked' to first point value

I'm studying a decay process as shown for a number of samples below. The higher the starting point, the faster the decay. The idea is to predict the value at any timeopint from measured Initial value. I would like to 'lock' the model so that at timepoint zero, the predicted value is exactly the measured Initial value. If not, predictions as short time times can be very off for some samples, as in graph below.

Any help on how to do this is very welcome!

Ake_2-1644507218193.pngAke_6-1644508333111.png

6 REPLIES 6
SDF1
Super User

Re: Model 'locked' to first point value

Hi @Ake ,

What platform are you using to fit the data? There should be a way to constrain the y-intercept of your fit to the first data point of the curve, but this might depend on which platform you're using.

UPDATE: I made a simple table with some exponential decaying functions and then fit it using the Analyze > Specialized Modeling > Nonlinear and used a Fit Exponential 3P decay to fit the data. Then, I saved the prediction formula to the data table and then changed the offset value to be the starting value of DecayX. This should help to get you in the right direction, I hope.

Hope this helps!,

DS

Ake
Ake
Level III

Hi and thanks for the fast response! I will practice putting my questions more clearly!  I'm using Fit Model (jmp 16), putting just Initial Value and Time as factors into a response surface.

I would want only one predictor function for all samples, with only the initial value as input. My (little) under standing is that Nonlinear fit gives you one predictor function per sample?

Best, Åke

UPDATE:

Hi SDF1,