Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
ThomasDickel
Level III

Map Value function: Inconsistent results for subsequent calls

Hello,

I am new to JMP 16 and JSL but I am an experienced programmer.

For some reasons I want to use the "Map Value" function but this gives me wrong results.

What i want to achieve is to remove unwanted items given as a list from a list containing numbers and strings

The following function constructs a list for "Map Value" named na_values in the form {option1, 0, option2, 0, ...} from the na_list e.g. {option1, option2 ,...}

and filters it using "Filter Each" and the Map Value" function.

wrap = function({filtered list,na_list}, {Default Local},			
		na_values={};For Each( {value}, na_list, na_values=Insert(na_values,value);na_values=Insert(na_values,1););
		return(Filter Each({value}, filtered list, Map Value(value, na_values, Unmatched(0))==0;));		
);

But it gives a wrong result if I call the function again with other parameters:

Show(wrap({"b",1, 2, 3},{"b"}));  // <--  returns {1,2,3} => OK
Show(wrap({"d",1, 2, 3},{"d"}));  // <--  returns {"d",1,2,3} => NOT OK, should be as above {1,2,3]

What is wrong here? A bug in JMP? I am using version 16.0.0 (512257).

Best regards,

Thomas

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
ThomasDickel
Level III

Re: Map Value function: Wrong results for different characters

The JMP support has answered me, it may be a defect which I have found.

Their support gave me the following solution to my original problem to remove unneeded items from a list using the Associative Array function:

filtered list = {"b", 1, 2, 3};
na_list = {"b"};
result = Associative Array(filtered list) << Remove(Associative Array(na_list)) << Get Keys; // {1, 2, 3}

View solution in original post

6 REPLIES 6
ErraticAttack
Level VI