Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
SEG
SEG
Level I

Looping x,y locations over time

Hello,

I'm fairly new to jmp (currently using jmp 16) and have a question about the following scenario. I have a csv file that has the following columns for each imperfection:

- Timestamp, serial ID,  x location,  y location, size of imperfection (in mm)

I work with a cleaning process and the inspection tool gives information for every single imperfection in the day. There are a couple of things I need to track:

1) number of times a particular serial ID has been processed and finding out if its the first time it has been cleaned, or second, third, etc.

2) if the serial ID has been cleaned more than once, then I need to know if any of combination of the (x,y) locations is still in the same spot after each cleaning

Graphing the x and y locations and then filtering by time I could get to answer 2) but its a very manual step. I am hoping to find a solution using jsl that could automate the information that I need to track.

9 REPLIES 9
Craige_Hales
Super User

Re: Looping x,y locations over time

What sort of resolution do the x,y locations have? For example, they might always be integers from 1 to 100, or they might be floating point values from 0 to 100 that are rounded to the nearest .01 or they might be floats with no apparent limit to the resolution. How close would the x,y pair have to be to be a repeat? Does the size of the imperfection have anything to do with the x,y overlap? Or is the size always smaller than the x,y grid and ignored?

If there are only 100 x and 100 y values, and if the size is not interesting, then I'd combine the x and y values into a single key, x*100+y perhaps, that might make it easier to test for repeats. Maybe the same for rounded floats, up to about 6 significant digits.

But if the size matters, or the distances have to be tested, I might use a KDTable.