cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
dinosaur4
Level I

JMP PCA Data Help!

I'm new to doing PCAs in JMP. Playing around with it though seems fairly simple. However, when I'm uploading my own data, that's where the problems begin. I am doing 3D GM, so each landmark (36 in total) has an X, Y, & Z coordinate. In a simple txt or Excel table, the data for each specimen is converted into 3 columns (an X, Y, & Z column) with 36 rows (a row for each landmark).

It would seem that in JMP that I have to convert my data - each specimen would therefore be a single row with 108 columns (X1, Y1, Z1, X2, Y2, Z2, etc.) - otherwise it would reach each row as a specimen with a single X, Y, & Z coordinate. Correct? Secondly, some of my landmarks are missing, and it's not as simple as "Landmark 8" is missing in each specimen. I know the pros and cons and arguments of estimating missing data etc., but I don't want to do that. In R I simply used "NA" for missing data, but it seems that JMP doesn't like combining numbers/values/symbols. Nor does it seem to like a - in place of missing data, nor an empty field. Any help or suggestions are greatly appreciated!

5 REPLIES 5
ian_jmp
Staff

Re: JMP PCA Data Help!

Yes, PCA expects each observation or specimen to be a single row. Take a look at the two table attached, and the saved scripts therein. To get from one format to the other you need to understand 'Tables > Split' and 'Tables > Stack' which are, essentially inverse operations (look in the 'Help').