cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
databug
Level I

Interpret Eigenvectors in variable clustering platform

I have variables that indicate the rates of disappearance of various metabolites from plasma, aka clearance from blood circulation. Since I have over 200 of these, I am using the variable clustering platform to cluster these variables. I am then using the cluster components in a PLS-DA model to see which cluster components (and their corresponding variable group) ends up discriminating two clinical groups I am studying. In doing this, how do I interpret negative eigenvectors (or are they eigenvalues, but this suggests eigenvectors)? If a positive eigenvector indicates a higher rate at which that cluster of variables disappear from plasma, then does a negative eigenvector indicate a slower disappearance relative to the ones with a positive notation? Happy to provide more details if necessary.

7 REPLIES 7
P_Bartell
Level VIII

Re: Interpret Eigenvectors in variable clustering platform

Your exact study is unclear to me...but here's a question...Are you clustering the x's before running the PLS-DA model and then using the eigenvectors as x's? Sure sounds like it. So now the question: Why not just let the PLS-DA platform do what it does best which is form and identify the optimal number of latent variables in the x's for the model and responses. Then you don't have to worry about clustering the x's and trying to figure out where to cut them off etc. and interpreting the eigenvectors as x's. The platform's report will do all the heavy lifting wrt to interpretation for you.

databug
Level I

Thank you, P_Bartell.