cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
cslim
Level I

How to get axis labels to the left of x-axis

I made a scatter plot with three variables on the x axis as shown below, but the label for the the axes (xC/ xB / xA) are at the bottom which can be unintuitive. 

cslim_0-1656493702836.png

I was looking a way to get the labels for the x axis to the left of each x-axis i.e xA on the left of "A1 A2 A1 A2...", xB on the left of "B1 B2...." and so on, so that it forms sort of a hierarchical table.

(I am new to jump, so not sure abut the correct terms for everything.)

Thanks in advance

3 REPLIES 3
txnelson
Super User

Re: How to get axis labels to the left of x-axis

Is this what you are trying to do?

txnelson_0-1656505731943.png

If so, in Graph Builder, you just drag the Age column to the X axis, then go back and drag the Sex column to the right end of the X axis

Jim
cslim
Level I

Thank you for the reply.

I already have the graph plotted correctly, I want to change only the formatting of the x-axis labels as I have shown in red text here:

cslim_0-1656652368641.png

txnelson
Super User

I was able to accomplish this interactively and then I had JMP save the JSL to a script window, which gave me the JSL that can be used to produce the graph.  As can be seen in the below graph, I only have 2 levels on my X axis, not 3 as in your example, however the method I used can be easily extended for the 3 levels.

txnelson_0-1656655326173.png

1. I created the default graph                                                                        txnelson_1-1656655590090.png

2. To remove the axis label, I clicked on the    age / sex    to edit it, and used the Backspace key to delete it. txnelson_2-1656655926967.png
  3. Next I used the Annotate Tool  txnelson_4-1656656026619.png to add the Sex label 

txnelson_5-1656656224111.png