cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

How many DFs are required to test X number of main effects - JMP Fit Model

I have been asked to analyze multiple main effects and their various interactions, but don't think I can do so as I achieve Lost DFs error messages when I use the Fit Model analysis. In case it helps, here the details of the data. Main effects (size): Location (4), Cultivar (4), Region (2, 2 Locations grouped per region), and Year (3). I only get results/appear to have enough DF when I run any two main effects maximum, but never with an interaction.

Question 1) Do I have a degree of freedom issue in terms of not being able to analyze more than two main effects, hoping to look at all four?

Question 2) If I was to run only two main effects, it is correct to rerun the model when a main effect is not found to be significant? For example, I ran Year Location and found neither to be significant, so then I reran the the model removing Year as I am interested in Location and again found Location to be non-significant, but with a lower p-value.

10144_pastedImage_0.png

10151_pastedImage_1.png

10152_pastedImage_2.png

Appreciate any advice

6 REPLIES 6

Re: How many DFs are required to test X number of main effects - JMP Fit Model

Hi travis.alexander0!

all I answer below is based on having no data to take a short look at it. I say this as there are different possibilities why you may or may not find more main effects to be significant.