cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
JMP is taking Discovery online, April 16 and 18. Register today and join us for interactive sessions featuring popular presentation topics, networking, and discussions with the experts.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
JesusJewel
Level I

HELP WITH FRACTIONAL FACTORIAL DESIGN OF EXPERIMENT

How do I carry out a fractional factorial design of experiment. I have watched some videos but they did not explain the basics to me very well. I have a data I need to analyse but I am new to design of experiment, yet, I don't have time to spare. I will prefer an interactive explanation.

I greatly appreciate any help provided

5 REPLIES 5
txnelson
Super User

Re: HELP WITH FRACTIONAL FACTORIAL DESIGN OF EXPERIMENT

I suggest you go through the DOE tutorial that is downloaded onto your computer when JMP is installed.  It will walk you through the implementation of a Fractional Factorial Design

It can be found at:

Help==>Tutorials==>DOE Tutorial

Jim
statman
Super User

The JMP tutorials are quite good for beginners.  If you attach your data set to this thread, I'm sure someone will take a look and help you analyze it.

"All models are wrong, some are useful" G.E.P. Box
JesusJewel
Level I

Attached is my dataset. the last variable is the outcome variable (Y). All the others go into the model. Thank you very much

statman
Super User

You will first need to tell us what change in the response variable (Y, Dried Cell Weight) is of practical value?  What is the smallest increment of change that matters to you and what is the target value?  Also did you keep track of run order?

Looking at your design, you have 4 treatments at the bottom with vastly different level setting?  These are not center points.  Curious as to how you came up with these treatment combinations?  

First look (again this is a blind look as I don't know if the variation created has any real value):