Subscribe Bookmark RSS Feed

Re: Easy way to generate a scatterplot matrix using the GraphBuilder?

shoffmeister

Community Trekker

Joined:

Mar 27, 2015

I was wondering if there is an easy way to generate a scatterplot matrix in the graph builder. I would like to create something like this:

11762_Bigclass.png

My problem is, that I need to pull over each variable on the x-axis one at a time. If I select multiple variables the GraphBuilder will generate the - for my purposes no so useful - overlayplot:

11763_bigclass2.png

I'm using this kind of graph often when it comes to the analysis of DoEs and I have 8+ variables on the x-Axis. Then it takes so much time to pull over each variable one at a time.

Thanks for any advice!

Sebastian

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
julian

Staff

Joined:

Jun 25, 2014

Solution

Hi sebastianhoffmeister​,

The easiest way to do this is by using the Dialog feature of graph builder with a graph matrix

  1. Launch Graph Builder
  2. Click "Dialog"
  3. Cast variables into roles
  4. Check box for "Graph Matrix"
  5. Click ok

Here's a short video showing that:

11774_GB-dialog-s.gif

I hope this helps!

julian

8 REPLIES
txnelson

Super User

Joined:

Jun 22, 2012

The 2 methods that I can think of would be to Tables==>Stack the columns you want on your X axis, and then use the "Label" column from the stack as an X Grouping variable. Or, a very simple script, which could be turned into an addin could be written that would take the X columns you specify and generate the Graph Builder code to generate the graph you want.

Jim
M_Anderson

Staff

Joined:

Nov 21, 2014

Why not just use Analyze > Fit Y By X, and then provide all the different X's.  You would get something like this:

11771_Fit Y by X.png

julian

Staff

Joined:

Jun 25, 2014

Solution

Hi sebastianhoffmeister​,

The easiest way to do this is by using the Dialog feature of graph builder with a graph matrix

  1. Launch Graph Builder
  2. Click "Dialog"
  3. Cast variables into roles
  4. Check box for "Graph Matrix"
  5. Click ok

Here's a short video showing that:

11774_GB-dialog-s.gif

I hope this helps!

julian

Highlighted
txnelson

Super User

Joined:

Jun 22, 2012

Wow....I have never seen this before......I learn something new about JMP every day.......

Jim
shoffmeister

Community Trekker

Joined:

Mar 27, 2015

Thanks so much! That is exactly what I was looking for.

I never had a look at that dialog button before. :-)

kdupree

Community Member

Joined:

Jul 7, 2016

Hi Julian,

While the Dialog Button you mentioned would be super useful for my purposes, I don't see it on my Mac version of JMP (11.1.1). Does anyone know if the Mac version includes this feature somewhere else?

Thanks,

Kelly

markschwab

Community Trekker

Joined:

Apr 15, 2016

I'm not seeing it in Windows JMP 11.1.1, either.

Is the Dialog box a new feature in version 12?

julian

Staff

Joined:

Jun 25, 2014

Hi Kelly,

The dialog box option for Graph Builder was added in JMP 12 so I'm sorry to say in JMP 11 and earlier there isn't a direct way to do this. Stacking or a custom script would be the next best thing if you want to stay in Graph Builder. Graph > Scatterplot Matrix is also an option and will work well with all continuous Xs.

Julian