Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Christian_P
Level I

DoE: From actual to coded factor values

Dear JMP community,

I am new to JMP - so please excuse if this question (or follow-up questions) might sound quite elementary to you.

I constructed a DoE screening design 2^3 and entered the actual value ranges for each factor. Now, of course, the resulting data table with the design contains the actual factor values and not the coded ones (which would range from -1 to 1).

Is there a possibility to transform the actual factor levels from this data table directly into their coded ones in a direct way, e.g. by just clicking on the right button in JMP? I know how to do this by applying the appropriate transformation formula on each column. But here, I am interested by an easy JMP operation. E.g. in Design Expert, you just need to click on the menu to switch between actual and coded coordinates (or vice-versa).

Thanks for your help!

Best,

Christian

(I am using JMP version 15)

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Christian_P
Level I

Re: DoE: From actual to coded factor values

Hi Phil,

thanks a lot for your quick answer!

(i) Why do I need this?

The "why do I need this" is easy to answer: Currently I rewrite a Design Expert tutorial about DoEs in JMP and my first approach is to rebuild every calculation in this tutorial in JMP and there are many design matrices directly stated in coded values. 

Of course, for the final application that might be of no interest, since all calculations are done internally in JMP. However, in order to get some educational insights of how the mathematics works behind, I find it quite illustrative to state also directly the coded design matrix since this is the natural object from the mathematical backend point of view.

(ii) Your answer.