Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Al_Perr_1988
Level I

D-Optimal Mixture Design variable constraints

Hello,

i am new to design of experiments and i run into a question. So i researching a mixture System and i have constraits as follows:

0=<A=<25
20=<B=<30

45=<C=<80
and now i would like to augment the design further to the following space
0=<A=<15

15=<B=<20 and
80=<C=<85
so the allowed design space would be something like a polygon. How can i do that in JMP?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Victor_G
Super User

Re: D-Optimal Mixture Design variable constraints

Hi @Al_Perr_1988,

Welcome in the Community !

The easiest and most convenient way to augment a design is to use the platform Augment Designs.
This platform enables to add experimental runs to an existing DoE, and enable to do replicates, fold-over, space-filling, increase model complexity, change factors range ...

For your specific example, I created a D-optimal mixture design (for main effects and 2-factors interactions, 12 runs) respecting your constraints so that you can follow the steps.
The original design is created with this script : 

DOE(
	Custom Design,
	{Add Response( Maximize, "Y", ., ., . ), Add Factor( Mixture, 0, 0.25, "A", 0 ),
	Add Factor( Mixture, 0.2, 0.3, "B", 0 ),
	Add Factor( Mixture, 0.45, 0.8, "C", 0 ), Set Random Seed( 324812 ),
	Number of Starts( 30462 ), Add Term( {1, 1} ), Add Term( {2, 1} ),
	Add Term( {3, 1} ), Add Term( {1, 1}, {2, 1} ), Add Term( {1, 1}, {3, 1} ),
	Add Term( {2, 1}, {3, 1} ), Set Sample Size( 12 ), Simulate Responses( 0 ),
	Save X Matrix( 0 ), Make Design}
)

If we check the experimental space with a Ternary plot, we can see that constraints are respected : 

Victor_G_1-1690882084421.png