cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Submit your abstract to the call for content for Discovery Summit Americas by April 23. Selected abstracts will be presented at Discovery Summit, Oct. 21- 24.
Discovery is online this week, April 16 and 18. Join us for these exciting interactive sessions.
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
Aam_jmp
Level IV

Comparing rows and columns with special characters

This might be very easy but I am new to JMP and finding it difficult to find a solution to this error.

Unexpected "%". Perhaps there is a missing "," or ")".

Scoped data table access requires a data table column or variable in access or evaluation of dt1: Acidic Variant' , dt1:Acidic Variant /*###*/

I am simply comparing a row in one table with columns of the other table. It does work for row and column names which do not have special characters like % or () but I will have names which will have special characters. Can anyone point out to me how this can be handled? Any help much appreciated. Thank you

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
txnelson
Super User

Re: Comparing rows and columns with special characters

Here is a modification to your script that will allow it to work.  You were heading down the correct path, you just needed to use the :Name() function in the Substitute function

Names Default to Here(1);
dt1 = Data Table( "Example1" );
dt2 = Data Table( "Example2" );

a = N Rows( dt2 );
colNamesList = dt1 << get column names( string );

For( i = 1, i < a, i++,
	Eval(
		Substitute(
				Expr(
					If( Try( __col__ << get name, "" ) != "",
						__col__ << Set Property(
							"Spec Limits",
							{LSL( _LSL_ ), USL( _USL_ ), Target( _Target ), Show Limits( 1 )}
						)
					)
				),
			Expr( __col__ ), Parse( "dt1:Name(\!"" || Column( dt2, "ColumnName" )[i] || "\!")" ),
			Expr( _LSL_ ), dt2:LSL[i],
			Expr( _USL_ ), dt2:USL[i],
			Expr( _Target ), dt2:Target[i], 

)

)
);